Bonfires In Silver City

Thorne Lucie

Bonfires In Silver City
  • Format
  • Published
  • ISBN

Bonfires In Silver City

Thorne Lucie

Bonfires In Silver City is the stunning new album from acclaimed Australian songwriter Lucie Thorne. Steeped in that striking spaciousness and sensuality for which Thorne’s work has become so renowned, Bonfires In Silver City encompasses a remarkable breadth of feeling and flavour. From the shimmering, wide-open beauty of Big News to the groove of Till The Season; from the surging swell of Great Wave to the perfectly matched duet (and co-write) with soultreasure Jo Jo Smith on Sweet Turnaround, Bonfires In Silver City is an arrestingly assured collection from one of our finest song-poets. Most of these songs were written whilst on the road, over the past two years of almost constant touring (throughout Australia and Europe) since the release of her last album, Black Across The Field. Evocative songs brewed over this nomadic time, during which Thorne has only occasionally retreated back to that sweet old country cottage by the Tantawangalo Creek (on the far south coast of NSW) that she still calls home. But the sound of Bonfires In Silver City has grown largely out of the musical empathy and camaraderie Thorne has developed over this period with legendary drummer Hamish Stuart. Produced by Thorne in close collaboration with Stuart, most of the album was tracked live in Sydney’s Megaphon Studio over three days in April 2011, and shining at its centre is their remarkable duet sound. Expansive, playful, loose and real. This foundation is augmented by sublime performances from some of their favourite players, including Dave Symes (bass), Chris Abrahams (piano and organ) and Carl Dewhurst (guitar), alongside some more adventurous guitar work and soundscape creations by Thorne herself, adding texture and an expanded tonal palette just where it’s required and not a note more.

  1. Falling
  2. Till The Season
  3. Cant Sleep For Dreaming
  4. Great Wave
  5. Correspondent
  6. Already Gone
  7. Sweet Turnaround
  8. Big News
  9. Noir
  10. When I Get There


Lucie Thorne’s 2008 album, Black Across The Field, was my album of the year; it was shortlisted for the prestigious Australian Music Prize and helped her find a new, larger audience. She has a lot to live up to with the follow-up Bonfires in Silver City, but has yet again proven that her songwriting, arranging, guitar playing and singing are, dare I say it – world class. Think an amalgam of Joni Mitchell, Emmylou Harris and The Cowboy Junkies. She is an artist well worth discovering and I can’t think of another Australian artist I would recommend more highly right now.


In-stock items ship within Australia in 2-5 business days.

Items that are currently not in-stock but are available can still be ordered. In-store availability is updated daily. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Stock information is refreshed every 24 hours.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.