Echoes Of Time

Batiashvili Lisa

Echoes Of Time
  • Format
  • Published
  • ISBN

Echoes Of Time

Batiashvili Lisa

Catalogue # 4779299

V & V for violin and taped voice with string orchestra

Spiegel im Spiegel

Vocalise, Op. 34 No. 14, with Hélène Grimaud (piano)

Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 99
Lyric Waltz (Dances of the Dolls)

Lisa Batiashvili (violin)

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Esa-Pekka Salonen

“few if any [recordings of the Shostakovich] are finer than this one…Batiashvili’s reflective, almost weightless approach in the opening Nocturne…is rendered more distinctive by the resonant acoustic of the empty Herkulessaal…the passacaglia is exceptionally poised and the cadenza more sheerly musical than usual. The finale whizzes to its end without undue triumphalism.” March 2011, Gramophone Magazine


The theme of Lisa Batiashvili’s brilliant DG debut – composers whose lives and work were affected by the politics of the former Soviet Union – brings together music by Shostakovich, Kancheli, Pärt and Rachmaninov. Arvo Pärt’s beautiful Spiegel im Spiegel *(featuring Hélène Grimaud) is as good as any version, while Rachmaninov’s *Vocalise *is refreshingly understated. Most impressive, though, is Shostakovich’s *Violin Concerto No. 1. Playing of the most sincere tenderness, rather than drama, offsets the sense of frustrated emotion that seems to characterise much of Shostakovich’s music. The cadenza is simply perfect. I cannot imagine a better or more warm and inviting performance of this work – a work I now love.

Evan Meagher is from Readings Hawthorn

In-stock items ship within Australia in 2-5 business days.

Items that are currently not in-stock but are available can still be ordered. In-store availability is updated daily. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Stock information is refreshed every 24 hours.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.