Search results for ‘Ian Mortimer

 Special priceThe Outcasts of Time
Paperback

The Outcasts of Time

Ian Mortimer

Synopsis coming soon.......

$15.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Time Traveller's Guide to Elizabethan England
Paperback

The Time Traveller’s Guide to Elizabethan England

Ian Mortimer

The past is a foreign country - this is your guide, from the bestselling author of Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval EnglandWe think of Queen Elizabeth I's reign (1558-1603) as a golden age.

$19.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England: A Handbook for Visitors to the Fourteenth Century
Paperback

The Time Traveller’s Guide to Medieval England: A Handbook for Visitors to the Fourteenth Century

Ian Mortimer

And how are you going to test to see if you are going down with the plague?In The Time Traveller's Guide Ian Mortimer's radical new approach turns our entire understanding of history upside down. History is not just something to...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Why Running Matters: Lessons in Life, Pain and Exhilaration - From 5K to the Marathon
Paperback

Why Running Matters: Lessons in Life, Pain and Exhilaration - From 5K to the Marathon

Ian Mortimer

In this year-long memoir, the celebrated historian Ian Mortimer considers the meaning of running as he approaches his fiftieth birthday. From injuries and frustrated ambitions to exhilaration and empathy, it is a personal and yet...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Outcasts of Time
Paperback

The Outcasts of Time

Ian Mortimer

Synopsis coming soon.......

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Outcasts of Time
Paperback

The Outcasts of Time

Ian Mortimer

From the author described by the London Times as the most remarkable historian of our time comes a stunning, high-concept time-travel adventure that is perfect for fans of S. J. Parris and Kate Mosse.

$32.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Time Traveller's Guide to Restoration Britain: Life in the Age of Samuel Pepys, Isaac Newton and The Great Fire of London
Paperback

The Time Traveller’s Guide to Restoration Britain: Life in the Age of Samuel Pepys, Isaac Newton and The Great Fire of London

Ian Mortimer

The third volume in the series of Ian Mortimer's bestselling Time Traveller's Guides answers these crucial questions and encourages us to reflect on the customs and practices of daily life. This unique guide not only teaches us...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Millennium: From Religion to Revolution: How Civilization Has Changed Over a Thousand Years
Paperback

Millennium: From Religion to Revolution: How Civilization Has Changed Over a Thousand Years

Ian Mortimer

History's greatest tour guide, Ian Mortimer, takes us on an eye-opening and expansive journey through the last millennium of human innovation.

$34.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Dying and the Doctors: The Medical Revolution in Seventeenth-Century England
Paperback

The Dying and the Doctors: The Medical Revolution in Seventeenth-Century England

Ian Mortimer

A survey of the changes in medical care for those approaching death in the early modern period.

$45.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

1415: Henry V's Year of Glory
Paperback

1415: Henry V’s Year of Glory

Ian Mortimer

Henry V is regarded as the great English hero. At the centre of the book is the campaign which culminated in the battle of Agincourt: a slaughter ground designed not to advance England's interests directly but to demonstrate God's...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Outcasts of Time
Hardback

The Outcasts of Time

Ian Mortimer

Synopsis coming soon.......

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Millennium: From Religion to Revolution: How Civilization Has Changed Over a Thousand Years
Audio

Millennium: From Religion to Revolution: How Civilization Has Changed Over a Thousand Years

Ian Mortimer, John Lee

History's greatest tour guide-- Ian Mortimer-- takes us on an eye-opening and expansive journey through the last millennium of human innovation --Front jacket flap.

$18.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, Father of the English Nation
Paperback

The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, Father of the English Nation

Ian Mortimer

From the bestselling author of The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England, comes the story of King Edward III, who - like Elizabeth and Victoria after him - embodied the values of his age, forged a nation out of war and...

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Human Race: 10 Centuries of Change on Earth
Paperback

Human Race: 10 Centuries of Change on Earth

Ian Mortimer

Sweeping through the last thousand years of human development, Human Race is a treasure chest of the lunar leaps and lightbulb moments that, for better or worse, have sent humanity swerving down a path that no one could ever have...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Fears of Henry IV: The Life of England's Self-Made King
Paperback

The Fears of Henry IV: The Life of England’s Self-Made King

Ian Mortimer

In June 1405, King Henry IV stopped at a small Yorkshire manor house to shelter from a storm. That night he awoke screaming that traitors were burning his skin. His instinctive belief that he was being poisoned was understandable:...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Medieval Intrigue: Decoding Royal Conspiracies
Paperback

Medieval Intrigue: Decoding Royal Conspiracies

Ian Mortimer

Ian Mortimer examines some of the most controversial questions in medieval history, outlining his ground-breaking approach to historical evidence. An important work from one of today's most original and popular medieval...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Greatest Traitor: The Life of Sir Roger Mortimer, 1st Earl of March
Paperback

The Greatest Traitor: The Life of Sir Roger Mortimer, 1st Earl of March

Ian Mortimer

The first biography of the rebel baron who deposed and murdered Edward II. A year later, as lovers, they returned with an invading army: King Edward II's forces crumbled before them, and Mortimer took power.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Medieval Intrigue: Royal Murder and Regnal Legitimacy
Hardback

Medieval Intrigue: Royal Murder and Regnal Legitimacy

Ian Mortimer

Examines some of the most controversial questions in medieval history, including whether Edward II was murdered, his possible later life in Italy, the weakness of the Lancastrian claim to the throne in 1399, and the origins of the...

$39.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Centuries of Change: Which Century Saw The Most Change?
Hardback

Centuries of Change: Which Century Saw The Most Change?

Ian Mortimer

Takes you on a whirlwind tour of the last ten centuries of Western history. This book tells the story of godly scientists, shrewd farmers, cold-hearted entrepreneurs and strong-minded women. It states that our understanding of...

$45.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Time Traveller's Guide to Restoration Britain: Life in the Age of Samuel Pepys, Isaac Newton and The Great Fire of London
Hardback

The Time Traveller’s Guide to Restoration Britain: Life in the Age of Samuel Pepys, Isaac Newton and The Great Fire of London

Ian Mortimer

Travelling to Restoration Britain encourages us to reflect on the customs and practices of daily life - and this unique guide not only teaches us about the seventeenth century but makes us look with fresh eyes at the modern...

$55.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Refugees and Expellees in Post-War Germany
Paperback

Refugees and Expellees in Post-War Germany

Ian Connor, Rebecca Mortimer

At the end of the Second World War, some 12 million German refugees and expellees fled or were expelled from their homelands in Eastern and Central Europe into what remained of the former Reich. This book examines their economic,...

$44.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Edward II: The Unconventional King
Paperback

Edward II: The Unconventional King

Kathryn Warner, Ian Mortimer

The dramatic life and mysterious death of the reviled Edward II, focusing on the vivid personality of the erratic and contradictory king, his unorthodox lifestyle and his passionate relationships with his male favourites,...

$44.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Edward II: The Unconventional King
Paperback

Edward II: The Unconventional King

Kathryn Warner, Ian Mortimer

The dramatic life and mysterious death of the reviled Edward II, focusing on the vivid personality of the erratic and contradictory king, his unorthodox lifestyle and his passionate relationships with his male favourites,...

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Edward II: The Unconventional King
Hardback

Edward II: The Unconventional King

Kathryn Warner, Ian Mortimer

The dramatic life and mysterious death of the reviled Edward II, focusing on the vivid personality of the erratic and contradictory king, his unorthodox lifestyle and his passionate relationships with his male favourites,...

$56.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Dying and the Doctors: The Medical Revolution in Seventeenth-Century England
Hardback

The Dying and the Doctors: The Medical Revolution in Seventeenth-Century England

Ian Mortimer

A survey of the changes in medical care for those approaching death in the early modern period.

$109.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Time Traveler's Guide to Medieval England: A Handbook for Visitors to the Fourteenth Century
Paperback

The Time Traveler’s Guide to Medieval England: A Handbook for Visitors to the Fourteenth Century

Ian Mortimer

Previously published in hardback by Simon & Schuster in 2010; originally published: London: Bodley Head, 2008.

$34.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

British Railway Enthusiasm
Paperback

British Railway Enthusiasm

Ian Carter, Jeffrey Richards, Rebecca Mortimer

The first book to study railway enthusiasts in Britain. The postwar train spotting craze swept most boys (and some girls, despite railways being coded as a male business) into a passion for railways. These people invigorated...

$46.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...