Shostakovich: Symphony No. 11 ‘The Year 1905’

BBC Philharmonic, John Storgårds

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 11 'The Year 1905'
  • Format
  • Published
  • ISBN

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 11 ‘The Year 1905’

BBC Philharmonic, John Storgårds

Shostakovich based this work on the events of one episode of that year, when thousands of workers and their families converged on the Winter Palace in St Petersburg to petition the Tsar over their working and living conditions. This majestic score, almost filmic in its conception, remains a milestone in Shostakovich’s output.

The BBC Philharmonic under John Storgårds captures the tremendous intensity of the work.

This item is not currently in-stock, but it’s available to order online.

Please note, our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.