Copland & Chávez: Pan-American Reflections

Orchestra of the Americas, Carlos Miguel Prieto

Copland & Chávez: Pan-American Reflections
  • Format
  • ISBN

Copland & Chávez: Pan-American Reflections

Orchestra of the Americas, Carlos Miguel Prieto

The Orchestra of the Americas performs Aaron Copland’s euphoric Third Symphony and Mexican composer Carlos Chávez’s rousing Sinfonía india in a thrilling Linn debut.

• Carlos Miguel Prieto, known for his charismatic conducting and dynamic, expressive interpretations, directs the orchestra.

• The Orchestra of the Americas performed both works at the 2018 Edinburgh Festival as part of a European tour, which saw the orchestra perform at the Rheingau Festival, the Elbphilharmonie and the Krzysztof Penderecki European Centre for Music.

• Full of hope, heroism and joyful optimism Copland’s Third Symphony is considered the ‘Great American Symphony'; it is perhaps most famous for its finale in which Copland incorporates his Fanfare for the Common Man, an exhilarating conclusion that leaves listeners uplifted.

• With scintillating indigenous melodies, complex rhythms and highly percussive orchestration, Chávez’s Sinfonía india is the perfect piece to end the programme and showcase this passionate, flamboyant and brilliantly incisive orchestra.

This item is in-stock and will ship in 2-3 business days

Please note, our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.