Chopin Piano Concertos For Piano And String Quintet

Lively Quatuor Cambini Paris Pierrefeu

Chopin Piano Concertos For Piano And String Quintet
  • Format
  • ISBN

Chopin Piano Concertos For Piano And String Quintet

Lively Quatuor Cambini Paris Pierrefeu

Chopin’s Piano Concertos are works of a twenty year old composer and ambitious soloist. Powerful and challenging, their romantic dimension also carries sensitive effusions. This duality is highlighted here by an interpretation on period instruments in a chamber version.

Choices that are as many clues to recognize the musicians from the Cambini-Paris Quartet and their accomplices: pianist David Lively and double bassist Thomas de Pierrefeu.

Direct heir to Chopin’s piano teaching legacy, David Lively chose a vintage Érard piano to record both Concertos. Accompanied by a string quintet, he revives the tradition of the genre: before being performed in big concert halls, composers and pianists like Chopin played their latest scores in music lovers' salons. The broad ambitus covered by the strings and the richness of the sound of the pianoforte respect the symphonic dimension of those two pieces.

A musical quest for fidelity and authenticity to music and musicians and a gift for the listener.

This item is in-stock and will ship in 2-3 business days

We are currently experiencing delays in processing and delivering online orders. Click here for more information.

Please note, our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.