Winston and the Wondrous Wooba Gymnastics Club

Tamsin Janu

Winston and the Wondrous Wooba Gymnastics Club
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

Winston and the Wondrous Wooba Gymnastics Club

Tamsin Janu

When Winstons new stepsister to be Macy moves to Woobawittawoo with her dad, life in their small town quickly turns upside down. Winston is thrilled, but Macy is miserable. Wooba might have the Big Bread, but what use is a crumbling tourist attraction when Macy wants to become an Olympic gymnast?

It is up to Winston and his friends to convince Macy to love Wooba as much as they do so they can stay there forever. But how? Could a gymnastics club be the answer to all their problems?

Review

Winston and his mum live in the country town of Wooba, home of Big Bread, a towering monument to local wheat farming, currently listed as one of Australia’s Twenty Ugliest Statues. Winston is proud of everything in Wooba (especially the decrepit Big Bread) and can’t wait to share it all with his new family from Dubbo, particularly his new sister Macy.

But the move to Wooba dashes Macy’s dreams of being an Olympic gymnast and she’s making her feelings plain to all. Luckily, Winston is brimming with ideas and boundless energy and soon inspires the good folk of Wooba to cobble together a training facility from makeshift sports equipment, raise a gymnastic team from among the local kids and even rescue Big Bread from demolition.

Warm, funny and thoroughly engaging, this story about community, family and friendship has it all: quirky characters, plenty of laughs and lots of heart. Readers who loved Figgy in the World, Tamsin Janu’s first book, will also adore this one.

Highly recommended for readers ages 8+.


Athina Clarke is the children’s book buyer at Readings Malvern.

This item is in-stock and will ship in 1-2 business days

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.