In Our Mad and Furious City

Guy Gunaratne

In Our Mad and Furious City
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

In Our Mad and Furious City

Guy Gunaratne

Winner of the 2019 Jhalak Prize

Winner of the 2019 International Dylan Thomas Prize 


Guy Gunaratne’s blistering debut In Our Mad and Furious City is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate, and will appeal to readers of The Bricks That Built The Houses or This is England.


For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe.

While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.

Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, In Our Mad and Furious City announces the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

This item is in-stock and will ship in 1-2 business days

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.