Gather the Daughters

Jennie Melamed

Gather the Daughters
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

Gather the Daughters

Jennie Melamed

On a small isolated island, there’s a community that lives by its own rules. Boys grow up knowing they will one day take charge, while girls know they will be married and pregnant within moments of hitting womanhood.

But before that time comes, a ritual offers children an exhilarating reprieve. Every summer they are turned out onto their doorsteps, to roam the island, sleep on the beach and build camps in trees. To be free.

At the end of one of such summer, one of the younger girls sees something she was never supposed to see. And she returns home with a truth that could bring their island world to its knees.

‘A skilful novel full of suspense’ Guardian

‘It’s a richly envisioned world, the strange isolation of which Melamed is excellent at teasing out slowly’ Independent

This item is not currently in-stock. It can be ordered online and is expected to ship in 2-14 days

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.

 Read reviewAmerican War

American War

Omar El Akkad

A second American Civil War, a devastating plague, and one family caught deep in the middle - an audacious and powerful debut novel for fans of Station Eleven.

$17.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Spaceman of Bohemia: SHORTLISTED FOR THE ARTHUR C. CLARKE AWARD FOR SCIENCE FICTION

Spaceman of Bohemia: SHORTLISTED FOR THE ARTHUR C. CLARKE AWARD FOR SCIENCE FICTION

Jaroslav Kalfar

A dazzling, ambitious, original, funny literary debut spanning duplicitous love, family secrets, political intrigue, a historical riddle and a cloud of spacedust over Venus - Everything is Illuminated meets Life of Pi.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Borne

Borne

Jeff VanderMeer

The dark, dangerous, funny and uplifting new novel from the author of Annihilation, the inspiration for the major motion picture directed by Alex Garland. 

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Gather the Daughters

Gather the Daughters

Jennie Melamed

For fans of The Handmaid's Tale, The Girls and The Power, this dark, unsettling and compelling story of an isolated island cult will get under your skin.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Sea of Rust

Sea of Rust

C. Robert Cargill

An action-packed post-apocalyptic thriller from the critically acclaimed author, screenwriter, and noted film critic.  

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Dreams Before the Start of Time

Dreams Before the Start of Time

Anne Charnock

In a near-future London, Millie Dack places her hand on her belly to feel her baby kick, resolute in her decision to be a single parent. Across town, her closest friend--a hungover Toni Munroe--steps into the shower and places her...

$26.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...