The Ruin
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • ISBN

The Ruin

Dervla McTiernan

Cormac Reilly is about to reopen the case that took him twenty years to forget…

Responding to a call that took him to a decrepit country house, young Garda Cormac Reilly found two silent, neglected children - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lay dead upstairs. Since then Cormac’s had twenty high-flying years working as a detective in Dublin, and he’s come back to Galway for reasons of his own. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.What ties a recent suicide to that death from so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Irelandand asks who will protect you when the authorities can’t - or won’t. Perfect for fans of Tana French and Jane Harper.

Review

If you’re on the hunt for a crime story that’s going to consume every other thought in your head, wring you out like a wet towel, and then deposit you back in the real world with your nerves fried to crisp … You’re in luck. The Rúin is the kind of book that you will inevitably find yourself recommending to every person you know, and probably also that lovely person who makes you coffee. It’s blisteringly good.

The less you know going into The Rúin the better, so here is the briefest of summaries: Detective Sergeant Cormac Reilly is drawn back into one of his old cases from 20 years earlier and must contend with the unresolved trauma of Ireland’s recent history. I can also promise dead bodies, suspicious figures returned from the past, corruption in high places, clever detective work, a host of slippery secrets, and all kinds of moral dilemmas.

Dervla McTiernan keeps a cracking pace as she flips between the perspective of the methodical and determined Reilly, and of talented surgical resident Aisling Conroy, who is facing a difficult decision following a tragedy. The story is set in Galway on the west coast of Ireland, and McTiernan creates a nuanced portrait of how the country’s history informs the present day and its politics. The Rúin is sure to appeal to fans of Tana French, and not simply due to the shared setting. Like French, and also Jane Harper (The Dry), McTiernan has crafted a procedural where investigative work is inexorably tangled with the mess of real lives, and the vivid world she creates is populated by characters that feel incredibly authentic.

This elegantly crafted and utterly addictive novel is the perfect reason to invest in a ‘Do not disturb’ sign for your weekend ahead. McTiernan has already promised book two and I can’t wait.


Bronte Coates is the digital content coordinator and the Readings Prizes manager.

This item is in-stock and will ship in 1-2 business days

Please note, our Carlton shop is currently under renovation. We have a pop-up shop nearby, carrying a select range of titles. Please call the pop-up shop on 03 9347 6633 for enquiries about specific titles.

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.