The Explorer
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

The Explorer

Katherine Rundell, Hannah Horn

Fred awoke to find that a snake was watching him and that there was an aeroplane in the trees. It was on fire. Being on fire was a quality it shared with much of the surrounding jungle.

After crashing hundreds of miles from civilisation in the Amazon rainforest, Fred, Con, Lila and Max are utterly alone and in grave danger. They have no food, no water and no chance of being rescued. But they are alive and they have hope. As they negotiate the wild jungle they begin to find signs that something - someone - has been there before them. Could there possibly be a way out after all?

Review

Following a plane crash, four children are left to fend for themselves alone in the Amazon. They forage for fruit and bugs to eat, find shelter and build a raft as they try to look after each other in a frightening and completely unfamiliar environment. I should also mention that they rescue an adorable baby sloth. In an attempt to find a way home, the group follows a map found in an old cigar tin to a place where they encounter a man of mystery and a magnificent secret of the jungle. Readers will feel completely immersed in the magnificent jungle and will learn plenty of fascinating titbits about the Amazon wildlife and environment. The book is extremely thoughtful, yet completely addictive and exhilarating. It has a classic feel and is absolutely perfect for readers of Michael Morpurgo’s books or those of us who adored Eva Ibbotson’s Journey To The River Sea. A great read for all readers aged 9+.


Kim Gruschow is the children’s book buyer at Readings St Kilda.

This item is in-stock and will ship in 1-2 business days

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.