• Format
  • Published
  • ISBN


Neko Case, K.D. Lang, Laura Veirs

case/lang/veirs is a true collaboration between three phenomenal, self-driven artists: avant-rock icon Neko Case, legendary musical nomad k.d. lang, and indie folk star Laura Veirs.

The women wrote all 14 songs and shared lead vocals equally, sometimes even within the same track. Full of stunning harmonies and spellbinding rhythms, case/lang/veirs travels through aches and eras, torch songs and tributes to the undersung.

They worked over two and a half years in Portland, Oregon, where lang and Veirs both live, sometimes in lang’s loft with a view of Mount St. Helens, others in Veirs' dining room or backyard studio. The album was written from the ground up without any real plan beyond a desire to make music together and a faith that it would reveal itself. They produced the album with Tucker Martine, at his Portland studio in November 2015.

“The combination of spirits, the combination of artistry, is very unique, because we have definite similarities, but we are very, very different, and it creates a really interesting thing,” says lang. “It’s a truly collaborative record where our individual essences are firmly in place.”

Track listing:

  1. Atomic Number
  2. Honey and Smoke
  3. Song for Judee
  4. Blue Fires
  5. Delirium
  6. Greens of June
  7. Behind the Armory
  8. Best Kept Secret
  9. 1000 Miles Away
  10. Supermoon
  11. I Want To Be Here
  12. Down
  13. Why Do We Fight
  14. Georgia Stars




I greeted this album with such excitement; here three musicians that I have admired for some time have made a record together. The story goes that k.d. lang called both Laura Veirs and Neko Case, and suggested they collaborate. There seemed to be no hesitation, except for the usual scheduling constraints, and finally it’s here!

Case/Lang/Veirs was recorded at Tucker Martine’s studio in Portland, Oregon. Martine has previously produced, among others, M. Ward, The Jayhawks, Sufjan Stevens, and Mavis Staples’ latest record, as well Laura Veirs’ last few records, which is convenient as Veirs and Martine happen to be married.

This new record sounds like a Laura Veirs record; its sparseness and echoing sound is both vast and epic, which suits Case’s style. Yet it’s Lang who really captures the tone of this album with her heartbreaking song, ‘Why Do We Fight?’ Lang and Case have each recorded four songs for this album, Veirs five, and the three musicians come together on the opening track, ‘Atomic Number’. Veirs takes the opportunity to salute an often neglected singer, Judee Sill, in her track ‘Song for Judee’, which is a companion to her song for Alice Coltrane, ‘That Alice’, from her last album Warp and Weft. Judee Sill was the first artist signed to David Geffen’s label Asylum in 1971; she made two amazing records, but fell out of favour with Geffen before dying tragically young and being forgotten a few years later.

I am not forgetting Neko Case’s contribution to this record, the more I hear her track ‘Delirium’, the more I am reminded of what a force of nature she is. This album would give anyone unfamiliar with any of these exceptional artists a good introduction; and it should find its way into many Top 5 records for 2016 lists.

Michael Awosoga-Samuel is a bookseller and music specialist at Readings Carlton.

This item is in-stock and will ship in 2-3 business days

Please note, our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.