Beautiful Broken Things

Sara Barnard

Beautiful Broken Things
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

Beautiful Broken Things

Sara Barnard

I was brave
She was reckless
We were trouble

Best friends Caddy and Rosie are inseparable. Their differences have brought them closer, but as she turns sixteen Caddy begins to wish she could be a bit more like Rosie - confident, funny and interesting. Then Suzanne comes into their lives: beautiful, damaged, exciting and mysterious, and things get a whole lot more complicated. As Suzanne’s past is revealed and her present begins to unravel, Caddy begins to see how much fun a little trouble can be. But the course of both friendship and recovery is rougher than either girl realises, and Caddy is about to learn that downward spirals have a momentum of their own.

Review

When I was first given Beautiful Broken Things I was expecting a story of teenage debauchery, a bit of crazy fun. What I was not expecting was a compelling story about strong female friendship or the devastation that mental illness can wreak.

Caddy can’t imagine a life without her best friend Rosie. Weekends are always spent together, daily phone calls are never missed and everyone knows that where Caddy goes Rosie goes too. That is, until Rosie meets Suzanne: a beautiful, confident young woman whom Caddy immediately sees as a threat to her friendship with Rosie. But what Caddy doesn’t know is that Suzanne has a broken past – Suzanne doesn’t care about the consequences of her actions, and Caddy finds that pretty exciting. As Suzanne leads Caddy into more and more trouble, Rosie starts to step back. For the first time in their lives Rosie and Caddy’s friendship may be about to be broken.

Beautiful Broken Things is not just about mental illness, it’s about self confidence and the lack of it that is all too prevalent in teenage years. It’s also about the ups and downs of young adult friendships. I think it is important that more YA books are tackling mental health and readers who enjoyed books such as Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places and Gayle Forman’s I Was Here should give this book a go.

Ages 13 and up.


Katherine Dretzke is a bookseller at Readings Hawthorn.

This item is not currently in-stock. It can be ordered online and is expected to ship in 3-6 days

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.