Carrie and Lowell

Sufjan Stevens

Carrie and Lowell
  • Format
  • Published
  • ISBN

Carrie and Lowell

Sufjan Stevens

The incomparable Sufjan Stevens is back with his brand new album ‘Carrie & Lowell!’

The album, named after Stevens' mother and stepfather, is a return to Stevens' folk roots. Thematically the 11 songs address life and death, love and loss, and the artist’s struggle to make sense of the beauty and ugliness of love.

Stevens is known for a preoccupation with epic concepts, which have motivated two state records (‘Michigan’ and ‘Illinois’), a collection of sacred and biblical songs (‘Seven Swans’), an electronic album for the animals of the Chinese zodiac (‘Enjoy Your Rabbit’), two Christmas box sets (‘Songs For Christmas vol. 1-5’ and ‘Silver & Gold, vol. 6-10’), and a BAM-commissioned programmatic tone poem for the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway (‘The BQE’). In 2010 Stevens released an expansive EP (‘All Delighted People’) and the full length ‘The Age of Adz,’ a collection of songs partly inspired by the outsider artist Royal Robertson and was named #6 in the top 10 albums of 2010 by Time Magazine.

Track listing:

  1. Death With Dignity
  2. Should Have Known Better
  3. All Of Me Wants All Of You
  4. Drawn to the Blood
  5. Eugene
  6. Fourth Of July
  7. The Only Thing
  8. Carrie & Lowell
  9. John My Beloved
  10. No Shade In The Shadow Of The Cross
  11. Blue Bucket Of Gold

This item is in-stock and will ship in 2-3 business days

We are currently experiencing delays in processing and delivering online orders. Click here for more information.

Please note, our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.