Elegy: Music Of A New Dawn From the Shadows of World War 1


Elegy: Music Of A New Dawn From the Shadows of World War 1
  • Format
  • Published
  • ISBN

Elegy: Music Of A New Dawn From the Shadows of World War 1


Elegy: Music of a new dawn from the shadows of World War I.

As World War I unleashed its horrors, composers responded from the heart - reaching deep into music’s raw emotions and quiet beauty to find a new language of grief, sorrow, comfort and hope. To commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Gallipoli landings, ABC Classics releases a 2-CD collection of some of the most profound and moving music of this period.

At the heart of the album stands the world-premiere recording of Australian composer F.S. Kelly’s Elegy - In memoriam Rupert Brooke, sketched behind the lines at Gallipoli in 1915. Born in Sydney, Kelly moved to England at the age of 12 and - a natural sportsman - won a Gold Medal for England in rowing at the 1908 London Olympics. Kelly was a close friend of the famous English poet Rupert Brooke (“If I should die, think only this of me; / That there’s some corner of a foreign field / That is forever England”), and began to write his Elegy immediately after Brooke’s death in 1915. Kelly was himself killed at the Battle of the Somme a year later.

Collected alongside Kelly’s Elegy are works written by English and French composers affected by the war, from the gloriously pastoral The Lark Ascending by Vaughan Williams, written shortly before the war, to Frank Bridge’s Lament, inspired by the death of a nine-year-old girl called Catherine who died when the RMS Lusitania was torpedoed by a German U-Boat. Familiar classics such as Elgar’s Cello Concerto as well as little-known masterpieces including Butterworth’s The Lads in Their Hundreds and Debussy’s Carol of the Homeless Children complete the album.

Track Listing:

CD 1


Dimity Hall violin, Sinfonia Australis, Antony Walker conductor

2. GUSTAV HOLST Mars, the Bringer of War from ‘The Planets'

Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, David Stanhope conductor

3. GEORGE BUTTERWORTH The Lads in Their Hundreds from ‘A Shropshire Lad'

Bryn Terfel baritone, Malcolm Martineau piano

4. GEORGE BUTTERWORTH A Shropshire Lad - Rhapsody

South Australian Symphony Orchestra, Bernard Heinze conductor

5. IVOR GURNEY In Flanders

6. IVOR GURNEY Severn Meadows

James Rutherford baritone, Eugene Asti piano

7. ERNEST JOHN MOERAN Symphony in G minor: II. Lento

New Philharmonia Orchestra, Sir Adrian Boult conductor

CD 2

1. FREDERICK SEPTIMUS KELLY Elegy - In memoriam Rupert Brooke

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Johannes Fritzsch conductor

2. MAURICE RAVEL Trois beaux oiseaux du Paradis (Three beautiful birds of Paradise)

Monteverdi Choir, Sabine Vatin piano

3. MAURICE RAVEL Le Tombeau de Couperin: III. Forlane

Stephanie McCallum piano

4. CLAUDE DEBUSSY Berceuse héroïque (Heroic Lullaby)

5. CLAUDE DEBUSSY Page d'album: Pièce pour Le Vêtement du Blessé (Album Leaf: written for the charity Clothes for the Wounded)

Roy Howat piano

6. CLAUDE DEBUSSY Noël des enfants qui n'ont plus de maisons (Carol of the Homeless Children)

Gondwana Voices, Catherine Davis piano, Lyn Williams conductor


English String Orchestra, William Boughton conductor

8. EDWARD ELGAR Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85: I. Adagio - Moderato

Li-Wei Qin cello, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Zhang Yi conductor

9. RALPH VAUGHAN WILLIAMS A Pastoral Symphony: IV. Lento - Moderato maestoso

Rosa Mannion soprano, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Roger Norrington conductor

This item is not currently in-stock, but it’s available to order online.

Please note, our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.