The Water and the Wild

Katie Elise Ormsbee, Elsa Mora

The Water and the Wild
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

The Water and the Wild

Katie Elise Ormsbee, Elsa Mora

A green apple tree grows in the heart of Thirsby Square and tangled up in its magical roots is the story of Lottie Fiske.

For as long as Lottie can remember, the only people who seem to care about her are her best friend, Eliot and the mysterious letter writer who sends her birthday gifts. But now strange things are happening on the island Lottie calls home and Eliot’s getting sicker, with a disease the doctors have given up trying to cure. Lottie is helpless, useless, powerless-until a door opens in the apple tree.

Follow Lottie down through the roots to another world in pursuit of the impossible: a cure for the incurable, a use for the useless and protection against the pain of loss.

Review

A gorgeous jacket made from a wood-cut illustration sets the scene in this adventure story for fantasy lovers aged 10 and up. Poor Lottie is an orphan living with a dour spinster, whose only friend in the world, Eliot, is mortally ill. Her saviour is a mysterious letter writer who sends her a magical birthday gift once a year. And the gift she wants most now is to save Eliot’s life. Suddenly a boy appears in her room and takes her through a doorway in the apple tree to another world, with sprites and wisps, treachery and betrayal. There she finds herself on a journey with three other children, a race for their very lives across the kingdom, in pursuit of a magic potion to help Eliot – the cure for the incurable.

This is a captivating, beautifully written fantasy adventure for readers who enjoyed Wildwood, The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland or the Narnia chronicles.


Angela Crocombe is the Children’s Book Buyer at Readings Carlton.

This item is not currently in-stock. It can be ordered online and is expected to ship in 5-14 days

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.