Endgame: The Calling

James Frey, Nils Johnson-Shelton

Endgame: The Calling
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

Endgame: The Calling

James Frey, Nils Johnson-Shelton

Endgame is real. Endgame is now. Endgame has begun. Twelve ancient cultures were chosen millennia ago to represent humanity in Endgame, a global game that will decide the fate of humankind. Endgame has always been a possibility, but never a reality…until now.

Twelve meteorites have just struck Earth, each meteorite containing a message for a Player who has been trained for this moment. At stake for the Players: saving their bloodline, as well as the fate of the world. And only one can win. Endgame is real. Endgame is now. Endgame has begun.

Google Niantic is building a mobile location-based augmented reality videogame inextricably tied to the books and mythology, a major prize will be tied to a puzzle in each book, and Twentieth Century Fox has bought the movie rights. Read the Books. Find the Clues. Solve the Puzzle. Who will Win?

Review

In the tradition of The Hunger Games, The Calling is the first installment in what promises to be an explosive series that will draw readers into a game of apocalyptic proportions. Twelve highly trained and skilled Players – who represent the 12 tribe-lines that populate present-day Earth – are called to action to fight against one another to the death. Endgame is a ruthless competition that has been designed by higher-order intelligent beings. There are no rules in Endgame.

Much like the principle of Darwin’s natural selection, only the fittest Player will survive, securing the genetic survival of their tribe. But a Player’s triumph is not only dependent on their being lethal assassins – they must also solve challenging riddles to secure the tools that will ensure their success. The battleground is the whole of Earth and the search for clues has Players travel from country to country. When alliances are formed among the Players, some begin to wonder whether a united front could ensure the survival of all tribes. An online game built by Google’s Niantic Labs means readers can play their own version of Endgame in real time.


Natalie Platten works as a bookseller at Readings Malvern.

This item is not currently in-stock. It can be ordered online and is expected to ship in 4-10 days

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.