For Now I Am Winter

Ólafur Arnalds

For Now I Am Winter
  • Format
  • Published
  • ISBN

For Now I Am Winter

Ólafur Arnalds

For Now I Am Winter is the new album from Icelandic musician, composer, multi-instrumentalist and producer Ólafur Arnalds.

For Now I Am Winter is the biggest step so far in the Icelandic musician’s approach to composing. American composer Nico Muhly was also brought in to help with the orchestral arrangements and to “make the textures more coloured” and for the first time Arnalds introduces vocals to his songs through Icelandic singer Arnor Dan.

Beginning his music career as a drummer for metal bands, Arnalds' journey has not been the typical path for classical composers. In 2004, Arnalds was asked to write instrumentals for the album of metal band, Heaven Shall Burn. This led to more work in the field of neo-classical strings and piano based music, and ultimately the release of “Eulogy for Evolution.” He has since written eight albums, several film scores and composed and played in many musicals from styles of prog-rock to electro-pop to classical minimalism.

Track Listing:
  1. Sudden Throw
  2. Brim
  3. For Now I Am Winter
  4. A Stutter
  5. Words of Amber
  6. Reclaim
  7. Hands, Be Still
  8. Only The Winds
  9. Old Skin
  10. We (Too) Shall Rest
  11. This Place Was A Shelter
  12. Carry Me Anew

This item is in-stock and will ship in 2-3 business days

Please note, our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.