The Heavy

Dara-Lynn Weiss

 
The Heavy
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

The Heavy

Dara-Lynn Weiss

A mother’s battle against her seven-year-old daughter’s obesity. A mother’s battle against her seven-year-old daughter’s obesity. When a doctor pronounced Dara-Lynn Weiss s daughter, Bea, obese at the age of seven, the mother of two knew she had to take action. But how can a woman with her own food and body issues not to mention poor eating habits successfully parent a little girl around the issue of obesity? In this much-anticipated, controversial memoir in the vein of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother and French Children Don’t Throw Food, Dara-Lynn Weiss chronicles the struggle and journey to get Bea healthy. In describing their process complete with frustrations, self-recriminations, dark humour, and some surprising strategies Weiss reveals the hypocrisy inherent in the debates over many cultural hot-button issues- from processed snacks, organic foods, and school lunches to dieting, eating disorders, parenting methods, discipline, and kids self-esteem. Compounding the challenge were eating environments from school to restaurants to birthday parties that set Bea up to fail, and unwelcome judgements from fellow parents. Childhood obesity, Weiss discovered, is a crucible not just for the child b

This item is not currently in-stock. It can be ordered online and is expected to ship in 2-14 days

Please note, we cannot guarantee delivery in time for Christmas after Wednesday 1 December. Click here for more information.

Please note, our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.