To The Horses

Lane Lanie

To The Horses
  • Format
  • ISBN

To The Horses

Lane Lanie

Lanie Lane’s debut album ‘To The Horses’, a collection of 11 songs that duck and weave through a heady mix of early rock ‘n’ roll, blues and rockabilly, serving up fantastic tales of love, lust, heartbreak and the importance of a good guitar all delivered by one of the most undeniably distinctive voices and charming characters in Australian music. Recorded and mixed over a grand total of 4 days with her band ata studio in Sydney, the self-produced ‘To The Horses showcases Lanie’ S irrepressible talent for crafting songs that are as raw and gritty as they are warm and inviting.

  1. Bang Bang
  2. Betty Baby
  3. Like Me Meaner
  4. What Do I Do
  5. What Trouble Is
  6. That’s What You Get
  7. Jumgle Man
  8. The Devil’s Sake
  9. Don’t Cry
  10. Heartbeat
  11. To The Horses


Get out your winged eyeliner, jaunty cowboy boots and slap that double bass: as soon as Australian Lanie Lane launches merrily into opening track ‘Bang Bang’, it’s hard not to tap your toes and shake your shoulders. This style of saucy, upbeat country is a favourite of mine, and Lane’s strong voice brings a touch of Duffy to ‘Betty Baby’, sexes things right up in ‘Like Me Meaner’, pares things back beautifully in ‘What Trouble Is’, generally rockabillies the hell out and will be played relentlessly when I need some perking up.

fiona-hardy-picFiona Hardy sells books and talks too much to customers at Readings Carlton, and puts together Dead Write for the Readings Monthly. She blogs haphazardly about movies and books (and sometimes music) and you can follow her on twitter - @readwatchtweet.

This item is not currently in-stock, but it’s available to order online.

We are currently experiencing delays in processing and delivering online orders. Click here for more information.

Please note, our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.