Locked Down

Dr John

Locked Down
  • Format
  • Published
  • ISBN

Locked Down

Dr John

Locked Down is an entirely new approach for the iconic Dr. John, featuring as it does his collaboration with Auerbach and a band of young musicians Auerbach hand-picked to make the album at his studio Easy Eye Sound in Nashville. “It was way cool cutting this record with Dan and the crew he put together for it,” says Rebennack. “It’s reel HIP.”

For his part, Auerbach says about the collaboration: “Mac inspired me every single day we were in the studio together: musically, spiritually, cosmically … something special seemed to be happening and everyone involved could sense it. For my money, Mac’s one of the greatest who ever was and who ever will be … I’m so honored to have had this opportunity to work with him.”

  1. Locked Down
  2. Revolution
  3. Big Shot
  4. Ice Age
  5. Getaway
  6. Kingdom of Izness
  7. You Lie
  8. Eleggua
  9. My Children, My Angels
  10. God’s So Good


Those of you who know the work of New Orleans legend Dr John will need no introduction. For those who don’t, he’s been making music since the 50s, has won multiple Grammy Awards, and is a Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee. This new album sees him team up with Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys and come up with a whole new sound and approach to the process, as well as a new band hand-picked by Dan. At this stage only one song has been released to the public, the funky horn-laden ‘Revolution’, which sounds fantastic. If that track is anything to go by, the record is going to be a killer!

Melissa Whebell is from Readings Hawthorn

This item is not currently in-stock, but it’s available to order online.

We are currently experiencing delays in processing and delivering online orders. Click here for more information.

Please note, our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.