Shadowfell: Shadowfell Book 1

Juliet Marillier

Shadowfell: Shadowfell Book 1
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

Shadowfell: Shadowfell Book 1

Juliet Marillier

The first book in the Shadowfell trilogy from the acclaimed author of the Sevenwaters series An exquisitely written tale of love, fear, faith and difficult choices … Marillier is a consummate craftswoman. Sydney Morning Herald The people of Alban are afraid. The tyrannical king and his masked Enforcers are scouring the land, burning villages and enslaving the canny. Fifteen-year-old Neryn has fled her home in the wake of its destruction, and is alone and penniless, hiding her extraordinary magical power. She can rely on no one - not even the elusive Good Folk who challenge and bewilder her with their words. When an enigmatic stranger saves her life, Neryn and the young man called Flint begin an uneasy journey together. She wants to trust Flint but how can she tell who is true in this land of evil? For Neryn has heard whisper of a mysterious place far away: a place where rebels are amassing to free the land and end the King’s reign. A place called Shadowfell. A story of courage, hope, danger and love from one of the most compelling fantasy storytellers writing today. A new book by Juliet Marillier is always a cause for celebration Kate Forsyth Winner of the Tin Duck Award for Speculative Fiction Finalist in the Sir Julius Vogel Awards Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Isobelle Carmody and Robin Hobb will love Juliet Marillier.

Review

julietmarillierAlban is a land ruled by a dangerous king, a man who has outlawed any contact with the fairy-like Good Folk who are now invisible to most humans. Neryn, though, can see them all-too-well, and while she tries hard to blend in, she can’t ignore the fact that she has a very dangerous gift.

After her father gambles her away to a stranger, Neryn narrowly avoids death only to face an uncertain future: she is now an orphan with no money and no prospects in an unfriendly land, where even the merest hint of rebellion will set the king’s Enforcers on her trail. When she discovers that Alban’s liberation might lie with her and her gifts, Neryn has no choice but to take a bold stance and face them.

A new Juliet Marillier book is always cause for celebration, and fans of this award-winning Australian fantasy author will not be disappointed. The world of Shadowfell is simple, yet beautifully wrought. For those who have not yet discovered Marillier, she’s an author for lovers of Isobelle Carmody and Tamora Pierce, and even for fans of Emily Rodda who are thinking of graduating to something a bit older.

hollyharperpicture Holly Harper is a children’s bookseller at Readings Carlton where she organises the kids and Young Adult enews'. She also writes books for younger readers under the name H.J. Harper. Find out more about her Star League and Bureau of Mysteries series here.

This item is not currently in-stock. It can be ordered online and is expected to ship in 3-6 days

We are currently experiencing delays in processing and delivering online orders. Click here for more information.

Please note, our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.