New Pornographers

30 April 2010


New Pornographers

You got a hankering for addictive choruses, middle eights which take you to magical places, and boy/gal vocal harmonizing that’ll have your knees buckle? Do you swoon when you hear THE LEFT BANKE’s Walk Away, Renee? Secretly punch the air when THE WHO assure you The Kids Are Alright? Or, (you can be honest with us), maybe you just have a thing for NEKO CASE?

If you ticked one or more of the above boxes then you are ready for the new album from THE NEW PORNOGRAPHERS. Together is the Canadian-US collective’s (feat. Neko Case and DESTROYER’s Dan Bejar) fifth full-length album release and it aims to please. It is as exciting for The New Pornographers obsessive, as it is for the casual new listeners.

Bandleader and chief songwriter A.C. Newman (who “In a perfect world, would be our Elton, our McCartney” ALL MUSIC GUIDE) has always dreamed of finding the perfect middle ground between LED ZEPPELIN and THE 5TH DIMENSION. ‘Together’ is that mix of deceptively complex pop songwriting and arena rock power.

  1. Moves
  2. The Crash Years
  3. Your Hands (Together)
  4. Silver Jenny Dollar
  5. Sweet Talk, Sweet Talk
  6. My Shepherd
  7. If You Cant See My Mirrors
  8. Up In The Dark 9. Valkyrie
  9. Valkyrie In The Roller Disco
  10. A Bite Out Of My Bed
  11. Daughters Of Sorrow
  12. We End Up Together


Another beautifully crafted pop-tastic record from this Canadian/US co-operative, masterminded by A.C. Newman and Neko Case. With such stellar talents to draw from, you’d expect the songwriting to be top notch – and it is.

The fact that there are three fine singers in the band doesn’t hurt either when it comes to laying down the honeyed harmonies that abound on their records. The New Pornographers have always had an uncanny ability to produce unashamedly pop records that draw heavily from their influences, while never roaming dangerously into derivative territory. Together is another fine addition to an impressive body of work.

This item is not currently in-stock. It can be ordered online and is expected to ship in approx 4 weeks

Our stock data is updated periodically, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.