Winners of the Aurealis Awards 2011 Announced

The winners of the Aurealis Awards 2011 have been announced.

Aurealis_small The winners of the 2011 Aurealis Awards for the best of Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror were announced over the weekend in Sydney, with Pamela Freeman and Kim Westwood taking out the prizes for best Fantasy and Science Fiction novels respectively.

The full list of winners is as follows - congrats all!

Fantasy Novel
Ember and Ash by Pamela Freeman

Fantasy Short Story
‘Fruit of the Pipal Tree’ by Thoraiya Dyer (After the Rain)

Science Fiction Novel
The Courier’s New Bicycle by Kim Westwood

Science Fiction Short Story
‘Rains of la Strange’ by Robert N Stephenson (Anywhere but Earth

Illustrated Book/Graphic Novel
Hidden by Mirranda Burton

The Deep: Here be Dragons by Tom Taylor and James Brouwer (illus)

Young Adult Novel
Only Ever Always by Penni Russon

Young Adult Short Story
‘Nation of the Night’ by Sue Isle (Nightsiders)

Children’s Fiction
(told primarily through words)
City of Lies by Lian Tanner

Children’s Fiction
(told primarily through pictures)
Sounds Spooky by Christopher Cheng and Sarah Davis (illus)

Bluegrass Symphony by Lisa L. Hannett

Ghosts by Gaslight Jack Dann and Nick Gevers (eds)

Horror Novel
No shortlist or winning novel this year

Horror Short Story
‘The Past is a Bridge Best Left Burnt’ by Paul Haines (The Last Days of Kali Yuga)

‘The Short Go: A Future in Eight Seconds’ by Lisa L. Hannett (Bluegrass Symphony)

Peter McNamara Convenors’ Award
Galactic Suburbia podcast – Alisa Krasnostein, Alex Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts, Andrew Finch (producer)

Kris Hembury Encouragement Award
Emily Craven of Adelaide