Orange Prize Shortlist 2012 Announced

The shortlist for this year’s Orange Prize for Fiction has been announced


The shortlist for this year’s Orange Prize for Fiction, which recognises excellence in women’s writing, has been announced in London. The longlist was narrowed down to a shortlist of six, including Anne Enright’s The Forgotten Waltz, and Ann Pratchett’s State of Wonder, who won the prize ten years ago for Bel Canto.

The Orange Prize was set up in 1996 to celebrate and promote fiction by women throughout the world. Previous winners include Téa Obreht for The Tiger’s Wife, Marilynne Robinson for Home, Zadie Smith for On Beauty and Lionel Shriver for We Need to Talk About Kevin.

The six shortlisted novels are:

The winner of the £30,000 prize will be announced on May 30 2012. Read more here.

 Read review
The Forgotten Waltz

The Forgotten Waltz

Anne Enright

$19.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...