Translated fiction 2018

Paradise Rot

Paradise Rot

Jenny Hval, Marjam Idriss

A lyrical debut novel from a musician and artist renowned for her sharp sexual and political imagery.   

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

An Unreliable Man

An Unreliable Man

Jostein Gaarder, Nichola Smalley

From the internationally bestselling author of Sophie's World, a novel about loneliness, language, lies and the power of storytelling.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

My Name is Adam (Children of the Ghetto Volume 1)

My Name is Adam (Children of the Ghetto Volume 1)

Elias Khoury, Humphrey Davies

A moving novel about Palestine's Calamity, for readers of Amos Oz and Orhan Pamuk - by the finest living Arabic novelist

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Homeland

Homeland

Walter Kempowski, Charlotte Collins

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

States of Passion

States of Passion

Nihad Sirees, Max Weiss

A mysterious tale-within-a-tale of family secrets by the most prominent Syrian author working today.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Nothing But Dust

Nothing But Dust

Sandrine Collette, Alison Anderson

A primal tale of cruelty and redemption.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Root of Evil

The Root of Evil

Hakan Nesser, Sarah Death

The second installment in Hakan Nesser's Inspector Barbarotti quintet: a series of letters detailing future murders arrives on Inspector Barbarotti's very own doorstep...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Farewell, My Orange

Farewell, My Orange

Kei Iwaki, Meredith McKinney

Two immigrants, Salimah and Sayuri, navigate isolation, a new language, and loss on their way to a lifelong friendship.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Bird Cottage

Bird Cottage

Eva Meijer, Antoinette Fawcett

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Soul of the Border

Soul of the Border

Matteo Righetto, Howard Curtis

An epic story of suspense and revenge set on the mountainous frontier of 19th-century Italy

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewAt Dusk

At Dusk

Hwang Sok-Yong, Sora Kim-Russell

In the evening of his life, a wealthy man begins to wonder if he might have missed the point.  

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead

Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead

Olga Tokarczuk, Antonia Lloyd-Jones

A subversive, entertaining noir novel from the winner of the 2018 Man Booker Prize.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Oblique Place

The Oblique Place

Caterina Pascual Soederbaum, Frank Perry

The Oblique Place is an exceptional literary journey, an achingly beautiful fusion of memories and history unlike any other.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Order of the Day

The Order of the Day

Eric Vuillard, Mark Polizzotti

Éric Vuillard's gripping novel The Order of the Day tells the story of the pivotal meetings which took between the European powers in the run up to World War Two. What emerges is a fascinating and incredibly moving account...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Emissary

The Emissary

Yoko Tawada, Margaret Mitsutani

Yoko Tawada's new novel is a breathtakingly light-hearted meditation on mortality and fully displays what Rivka Galchen has called her brilliant, shimmering, magnificent strangeness

$31.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

If Cats Disappeared From The World

If Cats Disappeared From The World

Genki Kawamura, Eric Selland

A million-copy bestseller, a poignant and thought-provoking Japanese tale that asks what it really is that makes life worth living.

$18.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Girl without Skin

The Girl without Skin

Mads Peder Nordbo, Charlotte Barslund

When a mummified Viking corpse is discovered in a crevasse out on the edge of an ice sheet, journalist Matthew Cave is sent to cover the story. The next day the mummy is gone, and the body of the policeman who was keeping watch is...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The End: My Struggle Book 6

The End: My Struggle Book 6

Karl Ove Knausgaard, Don Bartlett, Martin Aitken

The sprawling, intimate, and spectacularly unorthodox literary autobiography that unleashed a media frenzy upon its release in Norway, became a global publishing sensation, and sold millions of copies worldwide, now reaches its...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Day the Sun Died

The Day the Sun Died

Yan Lianke, Carlos Rojas

A surreal and gripping new book by one of China's most renowned contemporary writers

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Trick

Trick

Domenico Starnone, Jhumpa Lahiri

Imagine a duel between an elderly man and a mere boy. The same blood runs through their veins. One, Daniele Mallarico, is a successful illustrator whose reputation is slowly fading. The other, Mario, is his four-year-old grandson....

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Elefant

Elefant

Martin Suter, Jamie Bulloch

The international bestseller about friendship, second chances, and a tiny glow-in-the-dark pink elephant

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Our Life in the Forest

Our Life in the Forest

Marie Darrieussecq, Penny Hueston

A compelling and deeply unsettling dystopian novel from one of France's most acclaimed literary talents

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Plotters

The Plotters

Un-su Kim, Sora Kim-Russell

A darkly funny noir thriller and a fascinating moral tale about power and corruption in Korean society, filled with betrayals, power struggles and effortlessly smooth assassinations

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Impossible Fairytale

The Impossible Fairytale

Han Yujoo, Janet Hong

The Impossible Fairytale tells the story of the nameless 'Child', who struggles to make a mark on the world, and her classmate Mia, whose spoiled life is everything the Child's is not.

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Aetherial Worlds: Stories

Aetherial Worlds: Stories

Tatyana Tolstaya, Anya Migdal

$41.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Death Notice

Death Notice

Zhou Haohui, Zac Haluza

Based on China's most famous online crime serial, a killer crowd-sources his victims, playing a deadly but ingenious game of cat-and-mouse with the police.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Ball Lightning

Ball Lightning

Cixin Liu, Joel Martinsen

A new standalone military SF adventure from Cixin Liu. When Chen's parents are incinerated before his eyes by a blast of ball lightning, he devotes his life to cracking the secret of mysterious natural phenomenon. His search takes...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

I Always Find You

I Always Find You

John Ajvide Lindqvist, Marlaine Delargy

A twisted and surreal new thriller from the bestselling author of Let the Right One In

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Summer: (Seasons Quartet 4)

Summer: (Seasons Quartet 4)

Karl Ove Knausgaard, Ingvild Burkey, Anselm Kiefer

Summer is the fourth volume of the Seasons quartet, a collection of short prose and diaries written by a father for his youngest daughter, with stunning artwork by Anselm Kiefer. I made coffee and had a smoke in the office before...

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Reckoning

The Reckoning

Yrsa Sigurdardottir, Victoria Cribb

A time capsure is unearthed from a school playground - containing a threat of murders to come. As Freyja and Huldar look for the writer, the murders start... Dark secrets and corruption emerge in the thrilling second novel in Yrsa...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

My German Brother

My German Brother

Chico Buarque, Alison Entrekin

A poignant meditation on the recovery of personal history, literature, and what it means to have a father.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceThe Woman at 1,000 Degrees

The Woman at 1,000 Degrees

Hallgrimur Helgason, Brian FitzGibbon

A darkly comic and explosive tale of a world at war and one island girl's struggle to survive

$13.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceThe Neighborhood

The Neighborhood

Mario Vargas Llosa, Edith Grossman

A thrilling tale of desire and Peruvian corruption from the world-renowned Nobel Laureate.

$12.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Hero Born: Legends of the Condor Heroes Vol. 1

A Hero Born: Legends of the Condor Heroes Vol. 1

Jin Yong, Anna Holmwood

The most popular series by the most successful Chinese author - a cultural monument translated into English for the first time

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Hotel Silence

Hotel Silence

Augur Ava Olafsdottir, Brian Fitzgibbon

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe End of Loneliness

The End of Loneliness

Benedict Wells, Charlotte Collins

The international bestseller: A heartfelt, enriching novel about fate, loss and love

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewLook at Me

Look at Me

Mareike Krugel, Imogen Taylor

From a multi award-winning German novelist comes this finely nuanced and disarmingly funny novel about a woman who has lost sight of who she once was.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

About the Size of the Universe

About the Size of the Universe

Jon Kalman Stefansson, Philip Roughton

The second novel in a poetic, elemental yet modern Icelandic family saga spanning the whole of Iceland's 20th-century history, by the country's most distinguished and distinctive contemporary writer.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Spring: (Seasons Quartet 3)

Spring: (Seasons Quartet 3)

Karl Ove Knausgaard, Ingvild Burkey, Anna Bjerger

Spring is a deeply moving novel about family, our everyday lives, our joys and our struggles, beautifully illustrated by Anna Bjerger.

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewApple and Knife

Apple and Knife

Intan Paramaditha, Stephen J Epstein

Inspired by horror fiction, myths and fairy tales, Apple and Knife is an unsettling ride that swerves into the supernatural to explore the dangers and power of occupying a female body in today's world.

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Sons

The Sons

Anton Svensson, Elizabeth Clark Wessel

In the second part of the international hit Made in Sweden series, based on the incredible true story, former bank robber Leo leaves prison to take revenge on those who put him there.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Beyond The Rice Fields

Beyond The Rice Fields

Naivo, Allison M. Charette

The first novel from Madagascar ever to be translated into English, Naivo's magisterial Beyond the Rice Fields delves into the upheavals of the nation's precolonial past through the twin narratives of a slave and his master's...

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceSweet Bean Paste

Sweet Bean Paste

Durian Sukegawa, Alison Watts

A charming tale of friendship, love and loneliness in contemporary Japan

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Secret Passages in a Hillside Town

Secret Passages in a Hillside Town

Pasi Ilmari Jaaskelainen, Lola Rogers

Tense, atmospheric and often very funny, Secret Passages in a Hillside Town is another magical Finnish story from the author of the acclaimed The Rabbit Back Literature Society.

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.