Translated fiction 2016

The Transmigration of Bodies and Signs Preceding the End of the World

The Transmigration of Bodies and Signs Preceding the End of the World

Yuri Herrera, Lisa Dillman

Two astonishing novellas, by ‘Mexico's greatest novelist', in one volume.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Captivity

Captivity

Gyorgy Spiro, Tim Wilkinson

A literary sensation in Hungary, Gyorgy Spiro's Captivity is set in the tumultuous first century A.D., between the year of Christ's death and the outbreak of the Jewish War. It follows the adventures of the feeble-bodied, bookish...

$43.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Hermit

The Hermit

Thomas Rydahl, K. E. Semmel

For fans of Paul Auster, Raymond Chandler and Graham Greene comes this bold, prize-winning literary thriller

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Imperium: A Fiction of the South Seas

Imperium: A Fiction of the South Seas

Christian Kracht, Daniel Bowles

In 1902, a radical vegetarian and nudist from Nuremberg named August Engelhardt set sail for what was then called the Bismarck Archipelago. In his first novel, internationally bestselling author Christian Krachht uses the...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

33 Revolutions

33 Revolutions

Canek Sanchez Guevara, Howard Curtis

33 Revolutions is a candid and moving story set in contemporary Cuba. When our hero finds himself alone, separated from his wife with his father dead and his mother fled to Spain, he soon learns about the disappointments of a...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Evenings

The Evenings

Gerard Reve, Sam Garrett

First published in Dutch as De Avonden in 1947.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Young Bride

The Young Bride

Alessandro Baricco, Ann Goldstein

Erotically charged adult fable from bestselling Italian novelist.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Multiple Choice

Multiple Choice

Alejandro Zambra, Megan McDowell

Reader, your life is full of choices. Some will bring you joy and others will bring you heartache. 

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Explosion Chronicles

The Explosion Chronicles

Yan Lianke, Carlos Rojas

With the Yi River on one side and the Balou Mountains on the other, the village of Explosion was founded a thousand years ago by refugees fleeing a volcanic eruption. But in the post-Mao era, the rural community grows into a vast...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Sense of the Beginning

A Sense of the Beginning

Norbert Gstrein, Julian Evans

A poignant novel of political-religious awakening by one of Germany's literary stars

$31.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Street Kids

The Street Kids

Pier Paolo Pasolini, Ann Goldstein

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Man Who Spoke Snakish

The Man Who Spoke Snakish

Andrus Kivirahk, Christopher Moseley

A runaway bestseller in Europe where the book is so well known that a popular board game has been created based on it, The Man Who Spoke Snakish is an extraordinary coming-of-age story, mixing magical realism, reinvented national...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Nightwalker

The Nightwalker

Sebastian Fitzek, Jamie Lee Searle

Meet international number one bestseller Sebastian Fitzek, 'The Master of Mind Games'.

$21.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Divorce is in the Air

Divorce is in the Air

Gonzalo Torne, Megan McDowell

Joan-Marc's out of work, he's alone, he has a heart condition, his mother's addicted to pills, he can't stand his sister. Otherwise, life is beautiful. And there's a lot that his estranged second wife doesn't know about him. In...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Winterlings

The Winterlings

Cristina Sanchez-Andrade, Samuel Rutter

What are the women concealing? Why does nobody want to talk about Don Reinaldo? Why are they called The Winterlings?

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Day Before Happiness

The Day Before Happiness

Erri De Luca, Jill Foulston

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Dear Mr M

Dear Mr M

Herman Koch, Sam Garrett

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Story of My Teeth

The Story of My Teeth

Valeria Luiselli, PhD (Columbia University), Christina MacSweeney

Bon vivant, world traveler, auctioneerthe story of Highway and his teeth is like Johnny Cash meets Robert Walser in Mexico.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Nightmare in Berlin

Nightmare in Berlin

Hans Fallada

Available for the first time in English, here is an unforgettable portrayal by a master novelist of the physical and psychological devastation wrought in the homeland by Hitler's war.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Beautiful Young Wife

A Beautiful Young Wife

Tommy Wieringa, Sam Garrett

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Dog Who Dared to Dream

The Dog Who Dared to Dream

Sun-mi Hwang

The Dog Who Dare to Dream is a wise tale of the relationship between dog and man, as well as a celebration of a life lived with courage. Translated into English for the first time, it is a classic from Sun-mi Hwang, an...

$30.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

HEX

HEX

Thomas Olde Heuvelt, Nancy Forest-Flier

The incredible, horrifying thriller from the Hugo-nominated author of 'The Boy who Cast No Shadow,' perfect for fans of Sarah Pinborough, Adam Nevill and Stephen King.

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Good People

Good People

Nir Baram, Jeffrey Green

Set in Berlin and Leningrad during WWII, a profound exploration of individual lives caught in the tide of history.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Men

Men

Marie Darrieussecq, Penny Hueston

With her characteristic intensity, edginess and humor, Marie Darrieussecq explores female desire, and what it means to be a woman.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Notebook Trilogy

The Notebook Trilogy

Kristof Agota, Agota Kristof

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Little Caesar

Little Caesar

Tommy Wieringa

When Ludwig Unger returns to his hometown after a decade, he arrives with a plastic bag filled with his mother's ashes and little else. He was there to make amends with his lonely past, to say good-bye to the familial ghosts that...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Joe Speedboat

Joe Speedboat

Tommy Wieringa, Sam Garrett

After a farming accident plunges him into a coma for months, Frankie Hermans wakes up to discover that he's paralysed and mute. Confined to a wheelchair, Frankie struggles to adjust to a life in which he must rely on others to...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewSee You at Breakfast?

See You at Breakfast?

Guillermo Fadanelli, Alice Whitmore

Set in modern - day Mexico City, See You at Breakfast is the story of four characters, leading lives of quiet desperation, who are thrown together by a despicably violent act. Cristina is an optimistic prostitute managing work,...

$19.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewSome Rain Must Fall: My Struggle Book 5

Some Rain Must Fall: My Struggle Book 5

Karl Ove Knausgaard, Don Bartlett

At twenty, Karl Ove moves to Bergen. As the youngest student to be admitted to the prestigious Writing Academy, he arrives full of excitement and writerly aspirations. In this fifth instalment, Karl Ove discloses his personal and...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Interpreter

The Interpreter

Diego Marani, Judith Landry

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Diary Of A Body

Diary Of A Body

Daniel Pennac, Alyson Waters

A visceral, humorous progress from cradle to grave, told though telling attention to bodily functions

$31.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Am I Cold

Am I Cold

Martin Kongstad, Martin Aitken

Copenhagen, 2008. Excess is in, austerity is out. The international crash is about to send everything tumbling down, but everyone's too wasted to notice. And Mikkel Vallin's own bubble has already burst. Divorced, left by his...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Complete Stories

Complete Stories

Clarice Lispector, Katrina Dodson

Features stories ranging from teenagers coming into awareness of their sexual and artistic powers to humdrum housewives whose lives are shattered by unexpected epiphanies to old people who don't know what to do with themselves.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.