The Age's recommended books of 2017

 Read reviewThe Ministry of Utmost Happiness

The Ministry of Utmost Happiness

Arundhati Roy

'How to tell a shattered story? By slowly becoming everybody. No. By slowly becoming everything.'In a city graveyard, a resident unrolls a threadbare Persian carpet between two graves. On a concrete sidewalk, a baby appears...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewLincoln in the Bardo

Lincoln in the Bardo

George Saunders

The extraordinary first novel by the bestselling, Folio Prize-winning, National Book Award-shortlisted George Saunders, about Abraham Lincoln and the death of his eleven year old son, Willie, at the dawn of the Civil War.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewCommon People

Common People

Tony Birch

From the 2016 Victorian Premier's Literary Award-winning author of Ghost River.

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Sing, Unburied, Sing

Sing, Unburied, Sing

Jesmyn Ward

An intimate portrait of a family and an epic tale of hope and struggle, Sing, Unburied, Sing examines the ugly truths at the heart of the American story and the power - and limitations - of family bonds.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

As the Lonely Fly

As the Lonely Fly

Sara Dowse

As the Lonely Fly is an epic story of persecution, migration and dispersal during tumultuous events in the 20th Century, which shines a light on the intertwined fates of Jews and Palestinians - a scenario with deep contemporary...

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Catch: The Story of Fishing in Australia

The Catch: The Story of Fishing in Australia

Anna Clark

In every coastal town in Australia, there's a bait shop and a boat ramp, and, in garages around the country, fishing rods are strung up waiting for their next outing. Many of us have a special fishing spot, and families pass on...

$39.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewNo Way But This: In Search of Paul Robeson

No Way But This: In Search of Paul Robeson

Jeff Sparrow

Vocalist. Actor. Athlete. Agitator. Icon. Martyr.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Breaking the Mould

Breaking the Mould

Angela Pippos

An extraordinary transformation is taking place in Australian sport; from suburban footy fields to stadium cage fights, sportswomen are breaking through the...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Collected Poems of Fay Zwicky

The Collected Poems of Fay Zwicky

Fay Zwicky, Lucy Dougan, Tim Dolin

This volume collects all of Fay Zwicky's poetry, including previously uncollected and unpublished poems. It reveals an erudite, passionate, and highly inventive poet, whose consummate control of her craft places her at the summit...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Tattooist of Auschwitz

The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Heather Morris

Based on interviews author Heather Morris conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is a heart-wrenching, illuminating, and unforgettable tale of hope and...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewNevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Jessica Townsend

A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut Australian author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world - but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Rallying

Rallying

Quinn Eades

Rallying was written alongside Quinn Eades's first book, all the beginnings: a queer autobiography of the body, and before he began transitioning from female to male. A collection very much concerned with the body, and the ways in...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Student

The Student

Iain Ryan

A high-paced, hardboiled regional noir: fresh, gritty, unnerving, with a stark and lonely beauty.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Last Garden

The Last Garden

Eva Hornung

From the author of the award-winning Dog Boy, a powerful literary work about frailty, redemption, and the healing power of animals.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

I Hate the Internet: A novel

I Hate the Internet: A novel

Jarett Kobek

In New York in the middle of the twentieth century, comic book companies figured out how to make millions from comics without paying their creators anything. In San Francisco at the start of the twenty-first century, tech...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewAustralia Day

Australia Day

Melanie Cheng

An important and illuminating debut fiction collection about Australian life and identity.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Jean Harley was Here

Jean Harley was Here

Heather Taylor Johnson

Jean Harley Was Here is a touching and original exploration of love, relationships, and the ways in which we need each other.

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Down The Hume

Down The Hume

Peter Polites

A confronting and powerful novel from an exciting new voice - for lovers of Christos Tsiolkas (Loaded) and Luke Davies (Candy).

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Music Our Bodies Can't Hold

Music Our Bodies Can’t Hold

Andy Jackson

Each of these poems is a portrait of someone with or reputed to have had Marfan Syndrome. Many of the poems emerge out of personal interviews, while others are portraits of public figures: Abraham Lincoln, Akhenaten, Mary Queen of...

$20.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Animators

The Animators

Kayla Rae Whitaker

From age eighteen on, I had a partner, a kindred spirit. I had a friend. Someone bound and determined to keep me from the worst in myself.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

This Water: Five Tales

This Water: Five Tales

Beverley Farmer

This is likely to be the last work by Beverley Farmer, one of Australia's great prose stylists, and a pioneer of women's writing, in her exploration of feminine concerns, and her use of different literary forms - novel, short...

$26.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Reading for a Quiet Morning

Reading for a Quiet Morning

Petra White

Petra White's poetry is distinctive for its sharp and unusual imagery, its authoritative expressions of the inner life and its existential preparedness and irony. Mythic imagination and narrative are at the heart of this book, her...

$27.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Being Here: The Life of Paula Modersohn-Becker

Being Here: The Life of Paula Modersohn-Becker

Marie Darrieussecq

An unconventional biography of the German expressionist painter Paula Modersohn-Becker by one of France's most acclaimed literary talents

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Bird Country

Bird Country

Claire Aman

The sparkling debut from an exciting new voice in Australian fiction, Claire Aman Bird Country is a collection of spare and affecting portraits of ordinary people in rural Australia

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Ninth Hour

The Ninth Hour

Alice McDermott

From the National Book Award-winning author comes a luminous, deeply humane novel about three generations of an Irish immigrant family in 1940s and 1950s Brooklyn - for fans of Anne Tyler, Anne Enright and Colm...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewAnd Fire Came Down

And Fire Came Down

Emma Viskic

Winner of the Davitt Award (Adult Novels) 2018Deaf since early childhood, Caleb Zelic used to meet life head-on. Now he's struggling just to get through the day. His best mate is dead, his ex-wife,...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Winter Traffic

Winter Traffic

Stephen Greenall

Sutton doesn't like the 3am phone calls. He should change his number - that way Rawson wouldn't have it.Sutton's best mate is a hero cop, but strife flows through him like a highway. He was supposed to die young. Maybe...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

To Become a Whale

To Become a Whale

Ben Hobson

The story of a young boy who has recently lost his mother, trying to make sense of the world of men and then embarking on a breathtaking adventure of his own - a stunning literary debut in the tradition of Favel Parrett's Past the...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.