Summer Reading Guide: International fiction

 Read reviewBerta Isla

Berta Isla

Javier Marias

A marriage built on lies, a man with many faces, an unpaid debt to the secret service - rich drama from the author of The Infatuations.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewEvening in Paradise: More Stories

Evening in Paradise: More Stories

Lucia Berlin

From the author of A Manual for Cleaning Women: a collection of previously un-compiled stories from the short-story master and literary sensation Lucia Berlin.

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewFriday Black

Friday Black

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

Friday Black heralds the arrival of a thrilling new American literary star.     

$26.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewHouse of Names

House of Names

Colm Toibin

From the bestselling author of Brooklyn and Nora Webster.

$13.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Incendiaries

The Incendiaries

R. O. Kwon

A powerful, darkly glittering novel about violence, love, faith, and loss, as a young Korean American woman at an elite American university is drawn into acts of domestic terrorism by a cult tied to North Korea.

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewKilling Commendatore

Killing Commendatore

Haruki Murakami, Philip Gabriel, Ted Goossen

The ambitious major new novel from this internationally celebrated writer, on the scale of his bestselling 1Q84.

$39.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Like A Sword Wound

Like A Sword Wound

Ahmet Altan, Brendan Freely, Yelda Turedi

A sensual epic of a changing society set during the fall of one of history's greatest empires.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewLove is Blind

Love is Blind

William Boyd

'You don't see me as I really am. All the many nuances of Lika Blum. The light and the dark. You just see the light.'Love is Blind is William Boyd's sweeping, heart-stopping new novel - set at the end of the 19th...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceThe Ministry of Utmost Happiness

The Ministry of Utmost Happiness

Arundhati Roy

An epic novel of love and history and the perseverance of the human spirit in the face of loss and tragedy --

$13.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewNormal People

Normal People

Sally Rooney

When they both earn places at Trinity College in Dublin, a connection that has grown between them lasts long into the following years. This is an exquisite love story about how a person can change another person's life - a...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewOhio

Ohio

Stephen Markley

The debut of a major talent; a lyrical and emotional novel set in an archetypal small town in northeastern Ohio-a region ravaged by the Great Recession, an opioid crisis, and the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan-depicting one...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceParis Echo

Paris Echo

Sebastian Faulks

The new novel from the bestselling author of Birdsong and Where My Heart Used to Beat.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewThe Silence of the Girls

The Silence of the Girls

Pat Barker

The legend of The Iliad retold from the perspective of a woman: queen turned war prize, witness to history.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

To Kill a Mockingbird: Graphic novel adaptation

To Kill a Mockingbird: Graphic novel adaptation

Harper Lee, Fred Fordham

A beautifully crafted graphic novel adaptation of Harper Lee's beloved American classic.

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewTranscription

Transcription

Kate Atkinson

The magnificent new novel by the bestselling and award-winning Kate Atkinson, a major publishing event.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewUnsheltered

Unsheltered

Barbara Kingsolver

A testament to the power and goodness of the human spirit, Unsheltered explores the foundations we build, crossing time and place to give us all a little more hope in those around us, and a little more faith in ourselves.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Waiter

The Waiter

Matias Faldbakken, Alice Menzies

Set in an Oslo restaurant and narrated with searing wit and irresistible charm by a neurotic waiter, this Norwegian literary sensation is to be published around the world.    

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Well-Behaved Woman

A Well-Behaved Woman

Therese Anne Fowler

From the bestselling author of Z - a novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, Therese Fowler's new novel goes back to the origins of the Jazz Age - the Gilded Age of New York Society in the late 19th/early 20th century - with a the page-turning...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewAt Dusk

At Dusk

Hwang Sok-Yong, Sora Kim-Russell

In the evening of his life, a wealthy man begins to wonder if he might have missed the point.  

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewChina Dream

China Dream

Ma Jian, Flora Drew

A biting satire of Chinese totalitarianism from the critically acclaimed author of Beijing Coma and Red Dust.     

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewClock Dance

Clock Dance

Anne Tyler

Sunday Times bestselling, award-winning author of A Spool of Blue Thread

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewCrimson

Crimson

Niviaq Korneliussen, Anna Halager

This is the story of a group of friends, on the cusp of adulthood, exploring life, seeking authenticity and establishing their own queer identities. It's a beautiful novella, intriguing not only because of its unique setting in...

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead

Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead

Olga Tokarczuk, Antonia Lloyd-Jones

A subversive, entertaining noir novel from the winner of the 2018 Man Booker Prize.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Farewell, My Orange

Farewell, My Orange

Kei Iwaki, Meredith McKinney

Winner of the Kenzaburo Oe Prize Two immigrants, Salimah and Sayuri, navigate isolation, a new language, and devastating loss on their way to a lifelong friendship. Far from her native country of Nigeria and now...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Female Persuasion

The Female Persuasion

Meg Wolitzer

When Greer Kadetsky meets Faith Frank, inspirational woman, activist, and campaigner for women's rights, one snowy night at college, she is fired with energy and zest for the future.   

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewFoe

Foe

Iain Reid

An eerily entrancing page-turner, Foe churns with unease and suspense from the first words to its shocking finale. Perfect for fans of Humans, Westworld and Black Mirror, Foe is a book you will never forget.  

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewFrench Exit

French Exit

Patrick deWitt

Brimming with pathos, warmth and wit, French Exit is a one-of-a-kind tragedy of manners, a riotous send-up of high society and a moving story of mothers and sons.  

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Gentleman in Moscow

A Gentleman in Moscow

Amor Towles

21 June 1922 Count Alexander Rostov - recipient of the Order of Saint Andrew, member of the Jockey Club, Master of the Hunt - is escorted out of the Kremlin, across Red Square and through the elegant revolving doors of the Hotel...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

If Cats Disappeared From The World

If Cats Disappeared From The World

Genki Kawamura, Eric Selland

A million-copy bestseller, a poignant and thought-provoking Japanese tale that asks what it really is that makes life worth living.

$18.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Lake Success

Lake Success

Gary Shteyngart

A riotous, satirical road trip through Trump's America from the author of Super Sad True Love Story and Absurdistan.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Little

Little

Edward Carey

From little beginnings: the extraordinary story of a singular, diminutive crumb of a servant girl turned entertainment mogul.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Mars Room

The Mars Room

Rachel Kushner

Through Romy - and through a cast of astonishing characters populating Mars Room - Rachel Kushner presents not just a bold and unsentimental panorama of life on the margins of contemporary America, but an excoriating attack on the...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewMelmoth

Melmoth

Sarah Perry

From the author of the bestselling The Essex Serpent comes a darkly inventive and deeply moving novel that speaks urgently to our times.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

My Year of Rest and Relaxation

My Year of Rest and Relaxation

Ottessa Moshfegh

A shocking, hilarious and strangely tender novel about a young woman's experiment in narcotic hibernation, aided and abetted by one of the worst psychiatrists in the annals of literature.

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewYou Think It, I'll Say It: Stories

You Think It, I’ll Say It: Stories

Curtis Sittenfeld

The title story of Curtis Sittenfeld's brilliant first collection, You Think It, I'll Say It, is about a married woman who flirts with a man she meets at parties, by playing a game where she puts into words the sharp and critical...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewWomen Talking

Women Talking

Miriam Toews

Between 2005 and 2009, in a remote religious Mennonite colony, over a hundred girls and women were knocked unconscious and raped, often repeatedly, by what many thought were ghosts or demons, as a punishment for their sins. As the...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Washington Black

Washington Black

Esi Edugyan

A dazzling new novel of slavery and freedom by the author of the Man Booker and Orange Prize shortlisted Half Blood Blues.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Red Moon

Red Moon

Kim Stanley Robinson

The new novel from visionary SF writer Kim Stanley Robinson tells the compelling story of the first colony on the moon

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Picnic in the Storm

Picnic in the Storm

Yukiko Motoya, Asa Yoneda

These eleven surreal tales mark the English-language debut of one of Japan's most fearlessly inventive young writers

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewWarlight

Warlight

Michael Ondaatje

A mesmerising new novel from the internationally acclaimed, bestselling author of The English Patient.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.