Summer Reading Guide: International Fiction

The Betrayals

The Betrayals

Bridget Collins

A literary epic from the author of The Binding.    

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Devil and the Dark Water

The Devil and the Dark Water

Stuart Turton

The extraordinary new novel from Stuart Turton, author of the bestselling The 71/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, winner of the Costa Best First Novel Award.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceMilkman

Milkman

Anna Burns

This beautiful and painful novel by Orange Prize shortlisted Anna Burns blends shades of early Edna O'Brien with Eimear McBride's exquisite ability to capture voice.    

$13.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Box 88

Box 88

Charles Cumming

An organisation that doesn't exist. A spy that can't be caught.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewJack

Jack

Marilynne Robinson

Revisiting her beloved characters, Jack joins Gilead, winner of the Pulitzer; Home, winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction and Lila, which won the National Book Critics Circle Award. This is the compassionate and heart-breaking...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Mr Wilder and Me

Mr Wilder and Me

Jonathan Coe

The dazzling new novel from the prize-winning, bestselling author of Middle England

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Cold Millions

The Cold Millions

Jess Walter

The Dolan brothers live by their wits, jumping freight trains and lining up for day work at crooked job agencies. While sixteen-year-old Rye yearns for a steady job and a home, his dashing older brother Gig dreams of a better...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Magic Lessons

Magic Lessons

Alice Hoffman

The extraordinary new novel from the author of Practical Magic and The Dovekeepers 

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Olga

Olga

Bernhard Schlink, Charlotte Collins

The life of one woman - Olga - from late 19th century Prussia to modern Germany. A novel of love, passion and History from beloved modern master Bernhard Schlink.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Perfect World of Miwako Sumida

The Perfect World of Miwako Sumida

Clarissa Goenawan

A bewitching novel set in contemporary Japan about the mysterious suicide of a young woman.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Song for the Dark Times

A Song for the Dark Times

Ian Rankin

From the iconic Number One bestseller Ian Rankin, comes one of the must-read books of the year: A Song for the Dark Times.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewPiranesi

Piranesi

Susanna Clarke

From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality.

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars

Christopher Paolini

A masterful epic science fiction novel from New York Times bestselling author Christopher Paolini.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Red Pill

Red Pill

Hari Kunzru

When a Brooklyn writer leaves behind his young family to take up the offer of a three month residency at the Deuter Centre on the shore of Berlin's Lake Wannsee, he arrives with romantic dreams of days devoted to total artistic...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Tower of Fools

The Tower of Fools

Andrzej Sapkowski, David French

A brand new epic fantasy trilogy from the author of the legendary Witcher series, which inspired the blockbuster Netflix show starring Henry Cavill

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Searcher

The Searcher

Tana French

Our greatest living mystery writer weaves a masterful tale of breath-taking beauty and suspense, asking what we sacrifice in our search for truth and justice, and what we risk if we don't.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewTrio

Trio

William Boyd

A producer. A novelist. An actress. It is summer in 1968, the year of the assassinations of Martin Luther King and Robert Kennedy. While the world is reeling our trio is involved in making a rackety Swingin' Sixties British movie...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Silence

The Silence

Don DeLillo

Don DeLillo will have something to say this November about fear and isolation...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewUnquiet

Unquiet

Linn Ullmann

A stunning, genre-bending book about time, memory, and the author's extraordinary childhood as the daughter of a genius filmmaker and his muse.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewWhat Are You Going Through

What Are You Going Through

Sigrid Nunez

A luminous, heartbreaking and life-affirming novel about choosing to die, by National Book Award winner Sigrid Nunez, and the first to be published in trade paperback in Export territories for over fifteen years

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

V2

V2

Robert Harris

The no. 1 bestselling author of Munich and The Second Sleep returns to the Second World War for his new thriller.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewTranscendent Kingdom

Transcendent Kingdom

Yaa Gyasi

From the bestselling author of Homegoing comes a novel from the heart of contemporary America- a story of family love and addiction, of heartbreak and redemption.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewState Highway One

State Highway One

Sam Coley

A stunning debut novel about what it means to come home, from the winner of the 2017 Richell Prize for Emerging Writers.   

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewMonogamy

Monogamy

Sue Miller

Annie is not the first love of Graham's life but she is, he thinks, his last and greatest. Very recently, he has faltered; but he means to put it right.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewMayflies

Mayflies

Andrew O'Hagan

Everyone has a Tully Dawson: the friend who defines your life. In the summer of 1986, in a small Scottish town, James and Tully ignite a brilliant friendship based on music, films and the rebel spirit. Tully has news. ...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Lying Life of Adults

The Lying Life of Adults

Elena Ferrante, Ann Goldstein

A powerful new novel set in a divided Naples by Elena Ferrante, the beloved best-selling author of My Brilliant Friend.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Inheritors

The Inheritors

Hannelore Cayre, Stephanie Smee

Spanning two centuries, from Paris on the eve of the Franco-Prussian War to the modern day, this unforgettable family saga lays bare the persistent and poisonous injustice of inequality.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Fifty-Two Stories

Fifty-Two Stories

Anton Chekhov, Richard Pevear, Larissa Volokhonsky

Chekhov's genius left an indelible impact on every literary form in which he wrote, but none more so than short fiction. Now renowned translators Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky give us their superb renderings of fifty-two...

$49.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewEarthlings

Earthlings

Sayaka Murata, Ginny Tapley Takemori

Natsuki isn't like the other girls. She has a wand and a transformation mirror. She might be a witch, or an alien from another planet. Together with her cousin Yuu, Natsuki spends her summers in the wild mountains of Nagano,...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Blue in Chicago

Blue in Chicago

Bette Howland

The bittersweet, sharply observed stories in Blue in Chicago introduce British readers for the first time to Bette Howland, a forgotten great of twentieth-century American fiction, perfect for fans of Lucia Berlin, Lydia Davis and...

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Against the Loveless World

Against the Loveless World

Susan Abulhawa

From the internationally bestselling author of the terrifically affecting (The Philadelphia Inquirer) Mornings in Jenin, a sweeping and lyrical novel that follows a young Palestinian refugee as she slowly becomes radicalized...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Eighth Life (For Brilka)

The Eighth Life (For Brilka)

Nino Haratischvili, Charlotte Collins, Ruth Martin

At the start of the twentieth century, on the edge of the Russian Empire, a family prospers. It owes its success to a delicious chocolate recipe, passed down the generations with great solemnity and caution. A caution which is...

$26.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Deadly Education

A Deadly Education

Naomi Novik

In the start of an all-new series, the bestselling author of Uprooted and Spinning Silver introduces you to a dangerous school for the magically gifted where failure means certain death - until one girl begins to rewrite its...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewBetty: The International Bestseller

Betty: The International Bestseller

Tiffany McDaniel

A stunning, lyrical novel set in the rolling foothills of the Appalachians in which a young girl discovers stark truths that will haunt her for the rest of her life. A punch-in-the-gut of a novel you won't be able to forget.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Abstainer

The Abstainer

Ian McGuire

From the widely acclaimed author of The North Water comes an epic story of revenge and obsession set in 19th century Manchester

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Nickel Boys

The Nickel Boys

Colson Whitehead

Based on the history of a real reform school in Florida that operated for one hundred and eleven years and warped and destroyed the lives of thousands of children, The Nickel Boys is a devastating, driven narrative by a great...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewHamnet

Hamnet

Maggie O'Farrell

Told in Maggie O'Farrell's unique voice, Hamnet reveals for the first time in fiction the story of heartbreaking loss which inspired Shakespeare's most celebrated play

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Discomfort of Evening

The Discomfort of Evening

Marieke Lucas Rijneveld, Michele Hutchison

The sensational Dutch bestseller: Marieke Lucas Rijneveld's extraordinary portrait of a farming family distorted by grief, translated by Michele Hutchison.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Nothing Much Happens

Nothing Much Happens

Kathryn Nicolai

Busy minds need a place to rest. Whether you find yourself struggling to sleep, awake in the middle of the night, or even just anxious as you move through the day, in Nothing Much Happens, Kathryn Nicolai offers a healthy way to...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.