Summer Reading Guide: Australian Fiction

 Read reviewSong of the Crocodile

Song of the Crocodile

Nardi Simpson

A captivating Australian saga from the winner of the 2018 black&write! fellowship.   

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewAll Our Shimmering Skies

All Our Shimmering Skies

Trent Dalton

The highly anticipated second book by the author of Boy Swallows Universe Trent Dalton.   

$26.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Death in Daylesford

Death in Daylesford

Kerry Greenwood

Surrounded by secrets, great and small, the formidable Miss Phryne Fisher returns to vanquish injustice. 

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceThe Dressmaker's Secret

The Dressmaker’s Secret

Rosalie Ham

Rosalie Ham's dressmaker returns in the sequel to the beloved #1 bestseller and the box office sensation, The Dressmaker.     

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Sorrow and Bliss

Sorrow and Bliss

Meg Mason

Spiky, sharp, intriguingly dark and tender, full of pathos, fury and wit, Sorrow and Bliss by Meg Mason is a dazzling, distinctive novel from a boldly talented writer. For fans of Sally Rooney, Taffy Brodesser-Akner and...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewHoneybee

Honeybee

Craig Silvey

The highly anticipated new novel by the bestselling author of Jasper Jones.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewLucky's

Lucky’s

Andrew Pippos

An exuberant, magical Australian saga of family, love and second chances.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Doom Creek

Doom Creek

Alan Carter

Sergeant Nick Chester has dodged the Geordie gangsters he once feared, is out of hiding and looking forward to a quiet life. But gold fever is creating ill-feeling between prospectors, and a new threat lurks in the form of...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceFactory 19

Factory 19

Dennis Glover

They tell us that human happiness lies only in the future. But what if it really lies in the past?   

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceConsolation

Consolation

Garry Disher

Australia's favourite country cop, Hirsch, is back in Consolation, the follow-up to Peace and Bitter Wash Road.

$26.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Fifth Season

The Fifth Season

Philip Salom

In The Fifth Season Philip  Salom brings his virtuoso gifts for storytelling, humour and character to a  haunting and unforgettable novel about the tenuousness of life and what it  means to be both lost and...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Everything in its Right Place

Everything in its Right Place

Tobias McCorkell

Everything in its Right Place tackles themes of class, love and sexuality with humour, truth and grit. It is a story of the legacies and dilemmas that families bring, of how we all must find our own way, astonishingly told. ...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewOur Shadows

Our Shadows

Gail Jones

A sweeping intergenerational novel from 2019 Prime Minister's Literary Award winner Gail Jones.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewInfinite Splendours

Infinite Splendours

Sofie Laguna

Lawrence Loman is a bright, caring, curious boy with a gift for painting. He lives at home with his mother and younger brother, and the future is laid out before him, full of promise. But when he is ten, an experience of betrayal...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewIt's Been A Pleasure, Noni Blake

It’s Been A Pleasure, Noni Blake

Claire Christian

Claire Christian's sparkling adult debut is the millennial rom-com you've been waiting for: feminist, queer, sex-positive and shamelessly feel-good.     

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceThe Survivors

The Survivors

Jane Harper

The compelling new novel from Jane Harper, the New York Times bestselling author of The Dry.    

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewLife After Truth

Life After Truth

Ceridwen Dovey

At their fifteen-year reunion, a group of Harvard graduates - labouring with early middle age, marriage and children, unrealised aspirations and a depressing political climate - rekindle old loves and old resentments. ...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewThe Tolstoy Estate

The Tolstoy Estate

Steven Conte

Powerful, densely rich and deeply affecting, The Tolstoy Estate shows Steven Conte to be one of our finest writers.

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewThe Living Sea of Waking Dreams

The Living Sea of Waking Dreams

Richard Flanagan

An ember storm of a novel, this is Booker Prize-winning novelist Richard Flanagan at his most moving - and astonishing - best.     

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceTrust

Trust

Chris Hammer

The stunning new novel from the No.1 international bestselling author of Scrublands and 'master of Australian noir' Chris Hammer.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewA Room Made of Leaves

A Room Made of Leaves

Kate Grenville

A Room Made of Leaves is the internationally acclaimed author Kate Grenville's first novel in almost a decade. It is historical fiction turned inside out, a stunning sleight of hand that gives the past the piercing immediacy of...

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Poly

Poly

Paul Dalgarno

A searing and utterly engrossing debut, Poly is a raw, hilarious, and moving portrait of contemporary relationships in all their diversity, and an intimate exploration of the fragility of love and identity.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Night Whistler

The Night Whistler

Greg Woodland

A cracking rural crime debut that will have you on the edge of your seat until the final page.     

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Mother Fault

The Mother Fault

Kate Mildenhall

Mim's husband is missing. No one knows where Ben is, but everyone wants to find him - especially The Department. And they should know, the all-seeing government body has fitted the entire population with a universal tracking chip...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Morbids

The Morbids

Ewa Ramsey

Caitlin is convinced she's going to die...    

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Burning Island

The Burning Island

Jock Serong

Eliza Grayling, born in Sydney when the colony itself was still an infant, has lived there all her thirty-two years. Too tall, too stern-too old, now-for marriage, she lives by herself, looking in on her reclusive father in case...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceBluebird

Bluebird

Malcolm Knox

A house perched impossibly on a cliff overlooking the stunning, iconic Bluebird Beach. Prime real estate, yet somehow not real estate at all, The Lodge is, like those who live in it, falling apart.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Yield

The Yield

Tara June Winch

The 2020 winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, Tara June Winch's The Yield is the story of a people and a culture dispossessed. But it is as much a celebration of what was and what endures, and a powerful...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Wife and the Widow

The Wife and the Widow

Christian White

Brilliant and beguiling, The Wife and the Widow takes you to a cliff edge and asks the question: how well do we really know the people we love?        

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Good Girl, Bad Girl (Cyrus Haven, Book 1)

Good Girl, Bad Girl (Cyrus Haven, Book 1)

Michael Robotham

The first in an exciting new series featuring forensic psychologist Cyrus Haven, from world-renowned author Michael Robotham.    

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Dictionary of Lost Words

The Dictionary of Lost Words

Pip Williams

In 1901, the word 'Bondmaid' was discovered missing from the Oxford English Dictionary. This is the story of the girl who stole it. 

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.