Refugees & asylum seekers in fiction

What Strange Paradise

What Strange Paradise

Omar El Akkad

For fans of Exit West and The Underground Railroad and from the widely acclaimed author of American War comes a profoundly moving novel examining the global refugee crisis through a child's lens.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Hungry and the Fat

The Hungry and the Fat

Timur Vermes, Jamie Bulloch

By the author of Look Who's Back, a radical and bold satire in inequitable times.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Pachinko

Pachinko

Min Jin Lee

A victorian epic transplanted to Japan, following a Korean family of immigrants through eight decades and four generations.     

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The World That We Knew

The World That We Knew

Alice Hoffman

In Berlin in 1941 during humanity's darkest hour, three unforgettable young women must act with courage and love to survive, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Dovekeepers and The Marriage of Opposites Alice...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewDaughter of Bad Times

Daughter of Bad Times

Rohan Wilson

A suspenseful, truthful and compelling novel from the critically acclaimed author of The Roving Party. 

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Refugees

The Refugees

Viet Thanh Nguyen

The Refugees is a collection of perfectly formed stories written over a period of twenty years, exploring questions of immigration, identity, love, and family.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewZenobia

Zenobia

Morten Dürr, Lars Horneman

When the Syrian war reaches Amina's village she's forced to escape, and during her perilous journey she thinks of the brave warrior Zenobia to remind her to stay strong.

$19.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Exit West

Exit West

Mohsin Hamid

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Do Not Say We Have Nothing

Do Not Say We Have Nothing

Madeleine Thien

Written with exquisite intimacy, wit and moral complexity, Do Not Say We Have Nothing magnificently brings to life one of the most significant political regimes of the 20th century and its traumatic legacy, which still resonates...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewRed Birds

Red Birds

Mohammed Hanif

Written with his trademark wit, keen eye for absurdity and telling important truths about the world today, Red Birds reveals master storyteller Mohammed Hanif at the height of his powers.   

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Between Us

Between Us

Clare Atkins

Winner of the CBCA Book of the Year Award for Older Readers 2019. Ana's in a detention centre and Jono's life is spiralling out of control. Can their growing romance overcome the borders between them?

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewOn The Java Ridge

On The Java Ridge

Jock Serong

A literary novel about politics and seeking asylum, with the pace and tension of a political thriller. Plus some of the most compelling writing about the sea since Patrick O'Brian.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewForeign Soil

Foreign Soil

Maxine Beneba Clarke

In this collection of award-winning stories, Melbourne writer Maxine Beneba Clarke has given a voice to the disenfranchised, the lost, the downtrodden and the mistreated. It will challenge you, it will have you by the...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.