Programmed local fiction

 Read reviewAfter Story

After Story

Larissa Behrendt

When a mother and daughter take the overseas trip of a lifetime, they discover that the past is never quite behind them.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Imitator

The Imitator

Rebecca Starford

A powerfully insightful and luminous portrait of courage and loyalty, and the sacrifices made in their name.       

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewShe Is Haunted

She Is Haunted

Paige Clark

You do not know of Paige Clark, but you soon will

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewBila Yarrudhanggalangdhuray: River of Dreams

Bila Yarrudhanggalangdhuray: River of Dreams

Anita Heiss

Set on timeless Wiradyuri country, where the life-giving waters of the rivers can make or break dreams, and based on devastating true events, Bila Yarrudhanggalangdhuray (River of Dreams) is an epic story of love, loss and...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewHold Your Fire

Hold Your Fire

Chloe Wilson

Dark and dangerous, brilliantly unsettling and chillingly funny, this extraordinary debut shows us what we usually deny - the uneasy truce we make with our ruthless desires and gothic fears, and how easily it can be broken....

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Newcomer

The Newcomer

Laura Elizabeth Woollett

There's no such thing as a perfect victim.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewA Room Called Earth

A Room Called Earth

Madeleine Ryan

A brilliant debut from a neurodivergent author that shows the magical, sensitive world of a woman on the autism spectrum.    

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewGunk Baby

Gunk Baby

Jamie Marina Lau

The brand new novel from the Stella Prize shortlisted author of Pink Mountain on Locust Island

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewFriends & Dark Shapes

Friends & Dark Shapes

Kavita Bedford

An exquisite examination of the contours of grief and contemporary life, from a fresh new Australian-Indian voice

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewEcholalia

Echolalia

Briohny Doyle

What might drive a mother to do the unthinkable?

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewOne Hundred Days

One Hundred Days

Alice Pung

From one of Australia's most celebrated authors comes a mother-daughter drama exploring the faultlines between love and control.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Axiomatic

Axiomatic

Maria Tumarkin

Janet Malcolm meets The Empathy Exams in a genre-bending work on how people understand the traumas they inherit.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Fragments

The Fragments

Toni Jordan

From the award-winning and bestselling author of Addition and Nine Days, The Fragments is a superbly crafted and captivating page turning mystery about a lost book and a secret love, now available in a smaller, competitively...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewIn Moonland

In Moonland

Miles Allinson

In present-day Melbourne, a man attempts to piece together the mystery of his father's apparent suicide, as his young family slowly implodes. 

$23.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceBodies of Light

Bodies of Light

Jennifer Down

Jennifer Down cements her status as a leading light of Australian literary fiction in this heart-rending and intimate saga of one woman's turbulent life

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewLove Objects

Love Objects

Emily Maguire

A stunning, simply told story of great compassion and insight, from the author of the Stella Prize-shortlisted An Isolated Incident.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewIn My Defence, I Have No Defence

In My Defence, I Have No Defence

Sinead Stubbins

Wild and funny and wickedly relatable, In My Defence, I Have No Defence is one woman's reckoning with her complete inability to self-improve and a hilarious reprieve for anyone who has ever struggled to be better

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Other Half of You

The Other Half of You

Michael Mohammed Ahmad

A novel as potent and powerful as the Miles Franklin shortlisted The Lebs, driven by a tender and defining love.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewA Million Things

A Million Things

Emily Spurr

Fall in love with this heart-wrenching underdog story about grief, friendship and sticking up for yourself

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewExploded View

Exploded View

Carrie Tiffany

A fearless and masterful novel from the Stella Prize-winning author Carrie Tiffany, now in a new paperback edition

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceWild Abandon

Wild Abandon

Emily Bitto

A breathtaking new novel from the Stella Prize-winning author of The Strays.

$25.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Sweet Jimmy

Sweet Jimmy

Bryan Brown

Bryan Brown has been telling stories with his distinctive Australian voice on TV and in film for a long time, but this time he's writing crime in his first book.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewUnseen

Unseen

Jacinta Parsons

Jacinta Parsons was in her twenties when she first began to feel unwell - the kind of unwell that didn't go away. Doctors couldn't explain why, and Jacinta wondered if it might be in her head. But she could barely function, was...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Modern Marriage

Modern Marriage

Filip Vukasin

From Australia's most exciting new author, Modern Marriage will cause you to question what lies beneath the appearance of perfection.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Sorrow and Bliss

Sorrow and Bliss

Meg Mason

Spiky, sharp, intriguingly dark and tender, full of pathos, fury and wit, Sorrow and Bliss by Meg Mason is a dazzling, distinctive novel from a boldly talented writer. For fans of Sally Rooney, Taffy Brodesser-Akner and...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewNew Animal

New Animal

Ella Baxter

A stunning, heartbreakingly funny debut novel from a brilliant new literary voice. Sex, death, grief, running away...only one of these makes Amelia feel like a new animal.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewSmall Joys of Real Life

Small Joys of Real Life

Allee Richards

The night Eva shared a smile with Pat, something started. Two weeks later, lying together in her bed, Pat said, 'You can't live your life saying you'll get around to doing something you know will make you happy. You just have to...

$25.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Serpent's Skin

The Serpent’s Skin

Erina Reddan

From a Walkley Award-winning journalist comes a gripping, literary crime novel about male power and the secrets that can haunt a family.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Rabbits

The Rabbits

Sophie Overett

From the winner of the Penguin Literary Prize. A multigenerational family story with a dose of magical realism. It is about family secrets, art, very mild superpowers, loneliness and the strange connections we make in the places...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Room for a Stranger

Room for a Stranger

Melanie Cheng

From the winner of the 2018 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for Fiction, this tender, moving portrait of an improbable friendship and multicultural Australia more broadly, is now available in a new compact paperback edition.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewSmokehouse

Smokehouse

Melissa Manning

A man watches a boy in a playground and pictures him in the grey wooden shed he's turned into a home. A woman's adopted mother dies, reawakening childhood memories and grief. A couple's decision to move to an isolated location may...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Others

The Others

Mark Brandi

From the bestselling author of Wimmera and The Rip comes an unforgettable novel that explores the darkness in our world with the light only a child can find.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Truth About Her

The Truth About Her

Jacqueline Maley

How can you write other people's stories, when you won't admit the truth of your own? An absorbing, moving, ruefully tender, witty and wise novel of marriage, motherhood and the paths we navigate through both, for fans of Ann...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewInfinite Splendours

Infinite Splendours

Sofie Laguna

Lawrence Loman is a bright, caring, curious boy with a gift for painting. He lives at home with his mother and younger brother, and the future is laid out before him, full of promise. But when he is ten, an experience of betrayal...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Adversary

The Adversary

Ronnie Scott

A story about sexuality, the ache of friendship and love, and sticky summers at the pool, this exhilarating debut novel captures the heartbeat of one transformative summer where alliances are made and broken.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Performance

The Performance

Claire Thomas

The breakout literary sensation of 2021 from the prize-winning author of Fugitive Blue.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewAll Our Shimmering Skies

All Our Shimmering Skies

Trent Dalton

The highly anticipated second book by the author of Boy Swallows Universe Trent Dalton.   

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Family Doctor

The Family Doctor

Debra Oswald

A riveting, provocative novel about women's fury, traumatic grief, new love, deep friendship, and the preciousness of life, The Family Doctor asks the question: Should you cling to faith in a flawed system, or take control the...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Survivors

The Survivors

Jane Harper

The compelling new novel from Jane Harper, the New York Times bestselling author of The Dry.    

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewO

O

Steven Carroll

From one of our foremost writers, the acclaimed and multi-award-winning Steven Carroll, comes O, a reimagining of what might have been, the story of a novel that took on a life of its own and mirrored its times in a way the author...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Mother of Pearl

Mother of Pearl

Angela Savage

A luminous and courageous story from Angela Savage about the hopes and dreams we all have for our lives and relationships, and the often fraught and unexpected ways they may be realised.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.