Own Voices books for teens

Brontide

Brontide

Sue McPherson

Rob; (and his brother Pen) white Aussies. Rob is completing Year 12, going to schoolies, working as an apprentice in his dad's company and loves his dog, Nig. Rob believes real men take risks. Pen; fifteen-years-old,...

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewChildren of Blood and Bone

Children of Blood and Bone

Tomi Adeyemi

Magic can burn, turn tides, light the darkness and bring back the dead. But magic is gone. And only one girl can bring it back.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Dear Martin

Dear Martin

Nic Stone

Raw, captivating, and undeniably real, Nic Stone boldly tackles American race relations in this stunning debut.

$17.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Stone Girl

Stone Girl

Eleni Hale

A heartbreaking novel of raw survival and hope, and the children society likes to forget. A stunning and unforgettable debut YA.An unspeakable event changes everything for twelve-year-old Sophie. No more Mum, school or...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewAmelia Westlake

Amelia Westlake

Erin Gough

From Ampersand Prize-winning author Erin Gough comes this ferociously funny romp through an elite private school, and a brilliant feminist hoax that could change - or ruin - everything.Harriet Price has the perfect...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Run, Riot

Run, Riot

Nikesh Shukla

A powerful novel about young people standing up for themselves and their community, from the editor/author of The Good Immigrant.

$15.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

From Twinkle, With Love

From Twinkle, With Love

Sandhya Menon

The next heartwarming YA romcom from Sandhya Menon, author of When Dimple Met Rishi.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Poet X

The Poet X

Elizabeth Acevedo

A powerful novel with an unforgettable voice, perfect for fans of The Hate U Give and Sarah Crossan's One.  Xiomara has always kept her words to herself. When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

I Am Thunder

I Am Thunder

Muhammad Khan

Fifteen-year-old Muzna Saleem is passionate about writing and dreams of becoming a novelist.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Dangerous Art of Blending In

The Dangerous Art of Blending In

Angelo Surmelis

From HGTV and Today Show personality Surmelis--a raw, powerful, but ultimately uplifting debut novel based on his own childhood, about an immigrant Greek boy coming to terms with his sexuality in an abusive household.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Saints and Misfits

Saints and Misfits

S. K. Ali

Synopsis coming soon.......

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Benjamin Alire Saenz

This Printz Honor Book is a tender, honest exploration of identity (Publishers Weekly) that distils lyrical truths about family and friendship.

$17.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Forget Me Not

Forget Me Not

Ellie Terry

A girl with Tourette syndrome starts a new school and tries to hide her quirks in this debut middle-grade novel in verse.

$11.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Run

Run

Kody Keplinger

From the author of New York Times bestseller and major motion picture The DUFF, comes Thelma and Louise for a YA audience.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Girl Like That

A Girl Like That

Tanaz Bhathena

In this young adult debut set in Saudi Arabia, where the law forbids romantic relationships outside of marriage, two teens fall in love with tragic consequences.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewWhen Michael Met Mina

When Michael Met Mina

Randa Abdel-Fattah

Michael has always believed that everything in life is black and white. But that was before he met Mina.

$18.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

When Dimple Met Rishi

When Dimple Met Rishi

Sandhya Menon

Will opposites attract when Dimple meets Rishi? A laugh-out-loud, heartfelt YA romantic comedy, told in alternating perspectives.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

If I Tell You

If I Tell You

Alicia Tuckerman

Life and love don't wait until you're ready, but what if finding yourself means losing everything you've ever known?

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewLaurinda

Laurinda

Alice Pung

Laurinda is an exclusive school for girls. At its hidden centre of power is The Cabinet, a triangle of girls who wield power over their classmates -- and some of their teachers. Entering this world of wealth and secrets is Lucy...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

They Both Die at the End

They Both Die at the End

Adam Silvera

From the bestselling author of History is All You Left Me comes another unforgettable story of life, loss and making each day count

$17.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Freedom Swimmer

Freedom Swimmer

Wai Chim

This incredible tale about two boys' swim from mainland China to Hong Kong in search of freedom from poverty and oppression is inspired by a true story.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Secret Science of Magic

The Secret Science of Magic

Melissa Keil

Sophia is smart, like genius-calculator-brain smart. But there are some things no amount of genius can prepare you for, and the messiness of real life is one of them. When everything she knows is falling apart, how can she crack...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Sidekicks

The Sidekicks

Will Kostakis

The relationship between three very different teen boys changes as they mourn the death of their mutual best friend, in this heart-wrenching story from an award-winning Australian author about grief, self-discovery and the...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Hate U Give

The Hate U Give

Angie Thomas

A powerful and brave YA novel about what prejudice looks like in the 21st century.

$17.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewFinding Nevo: How I Confused Everyone

Finding Nevo: How I Confused Everyone

Zisin Nevo

Meet Nevo: girl, boy, he, she, him, her, they, them, daughter, son, teacher, student, friend, gay, bi, lesbian, trans, homo, Jew, dyke, masculine, feminine, androgynous, queer.

$18.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Love, Hate & Other Filters

Love, Hate & Other Filters

Samira Ahmed

A romantic and relevant debut about Islamophobia and how it affects the normal life of a teenage girl. I don't want something . . . But jewellery and heels are so uncomfortable . . . Then a suicide bomber who shares her last...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Grace Beside Me

Grace Beside Me

Sue McPherson

Written from teenager girl Fuzzy Mac's perspective, Grace Beside Me is a quirky, warmly rendered story of home and family life in a small town. The black&write! judges remarked on the authentic feel of the Indigenous home life of...

$19.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Little Paradise

Little Paradise

Gabrielle Wang

Mirabel, a 17-year-old Australian-born Chinese girl, falls in love with a Chinese soldier stationed in Melbourne during WW II. When their affair is discovered JJ is posted back to China. Mirabel decides to follow him to Shanghai....

$19.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Everything, Everything

Everything, Everything

Nicola Yoon

Madeline Whittier is allergic to the outside world. So allergic, in fact, that she has never left the house in all of her seventeen years. But when Olly moves in next door, and wants to talk to Maddie, tiny holes start to appear...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Ida

Ida

Alison Evans

Ida is an intelligent, diverse and entertaining novel that explores love, loss and longing, and speaks to the condition of an array of overwhelming, and often illusory, choices.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Persepolis I and II

Persepolis I and II

Marjane Satrapi

Tells the story of Marjane Satrapi's life in Tehran from the ages of six to fourteen, years that saw the overthrow of the Shah's regime, the triumph of the Islamic Revolution and the devastating effects of war with Iraq. This...

$46.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Sun is also a Star

The Sun is also a Star

Nicola Yoon

The dazzling new novel from Nicola Yoon, the New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything.  

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.