Gift ideas for Father's Day: Immersive fiction

 Read reviewDark as Last Night

Dark as Last Night

Tony Birch

A masterful new story collection from award-winning Indigenous writer Tony Birch

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Long Game

The Long Game

Simon Rowell

A tightly-wound debut crime novel set in Melbourne and surrounds, for fans of Sarah Bailey, Garry Disher and J. M. Green

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Empires

Empires

Nick Earls

Empires rise and fall, human lives are lived, collisions occur more than we will ever know, and yet the unexpected can still happen.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Still Life

Still Life

Sarah Winman

By the bestselling, prize-winning author of When God was a Rabbit and Tin Man, Still Life is a beautiful, big-hearted, richly tapestried story of people brought together by love, war, art, flood... and the ghost of E.M. Forster.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Flock: First Nations Stories Then and Now

Flock: First Nations Stories Then and Now

Ellen van Neerven

Curated and introduced by award-winning author Ellen van Neerven, Flock features luminous storytelling from leading Aboriginal writers, such as Tony Birch, Melissa Lucashenko and Tara June Winch, as well as some of the brightest...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Tribute

The Tribute

John Byron

Meticulously researched, hugely ambitious and superbly crafted, The Tribute is the most outstanding thriller of 2021.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Voice in the Night

A Voice in the Night

Sarah Hawthorn

A Voice in the Night is an addictive thriller of twists and turns, a gripping and emotionally resonant debut from a striking new voice.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Newcomer

The Newcomer

Laura Elizabeth Woollett

There's no such thing as a perfect victim.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Inheritance

The Inheritance

Gabriel Bergmoser

The author of the bestselling The Hunted returns with another unmissable, white-knuckle, gritty urban suspense thriller: think Jack Reacher meets John Wick in a high-octane, high-speed chase on the dark streets of Melbourne.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewHell of a Book

Hell of a Book

Jason Mott

An astounding work of fiction - resoundingly powerful, endlessly quotable and funny as hell - with its sights set on getting to the heart of racism in America. In short, this is one Hell of a Book.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewChina Room

China Room

Sunjeev Sahota

A multigenerational novel of love, oppression, trauma and the pursuit of freedom, inspired in part by the author's own family history, China Room twines together the stories of a woman and a man separated by more than half a...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Winter In Sokcho

Winter In Sokcho

Elisa Shua Dusapin

As if Marguerite Duras wrote Convenience Store Woman--a beautiful, unexpected novel from a debut French-Korean author

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Kingdoms

The Kingdoms

Natasha Pulley

For fans of The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle and David Mitchell, a genre-busting, captivating adventure in time travel and on the high seas.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Night Always Comes

The Night Always Comes

Willy Vlautin

Set over two days and two nights, the story of one woman's resilience in the face of opportunism, greed and ever-narrowing choices.

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

I'm Waiting For You

I’m Waiting For You

Kim Bo-Young, Sophie Bowman, Sung Ryu

THE TIMES SCIENCE FICTION BOOK OF THE MONTH 'Her fiction is a breath-taking piece of a cinematic art ... powerful and graceful' - Bong Joon-ho, Oscar-winning director of Parasite ...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Night Blue

Night Blue

Angela O'Keeffe

Potent, haunting and lyrical, Night Blue is a debut novel like no other, a narrative largely told in the voice of the painting Blue Poles. It is a truly original and absorbing approach to revisiting Jackson Pollock and his wife...

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Rabbits

The Rabbits

Sophie Overett

From the winner of the Penguin Literary Prize. A multigenerational family story with a dose of magical realism. It is about family secrets, art, very mild superpowers, loneliness and the strange connections we make in the places...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Cellist

The Cellist

Daniel Silva

Master of international intrigue Daniel Silva follows up his acclaimed #1 New York Times bestsellers The Order, The New Girl, and The Other Woman with this riveting, action-packed tale of espionage and suspense featuring art...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.