Gift ideas for Father's Day: Immersive fiction

 Read reviewUtopia Avenue

Utopia Avenue

David Mitchell

The spectacular new novel from the bestselling author of Cloud Atlas and The Bone Clocks.   

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Dominicana

Dominicana

Angie Cruz

A poignant and nuanced portrait of a Dominican teenager's arranged marriage and immigration to New York City in the 1960s.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewStone Sky Gold Mountain

Stone Sky Gold Mountain

Mirandi Riwoe

Family circumstances force siblings Ying and Lai Yue to flee their home in China to seek their fortunes in Australia. Life on the gold fields is hard, and they soon abandon the diggings and head to nearby Maytown.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Mountains Sing

The Mountains Sing

Nguyen Phan Que Mai

Set against the backdrop of the Việt Nam War, The Mountains Sing is the enveloping, multi-generational tale of the Trần family, perfect for fans of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko or Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing.    

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewA Room Made of Leaves

A Room Made of Leaves

Kate Grenville

A Room Made of Leaves is the internationally acclaimed author Kate Grenville's first novel in almost a decade. It is historical fiction turned inside out, a stunning sleight of hand that gives the past the piercing immediacy of...

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Mammoth

Mammoth

Chris Flynn

The original, unforgettable and thought-provoking new novel by award-winning author Chris Flynn that will change how readers understand the world

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Vanishing Half

The Vanishing Half

Brit Bennett

From the author of the New York Times bestseller The Mothers, a powerful new novel about the parallel lives of estranged twin sisters who choose to live in two very different worlds - one black and one white.     ...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Death in Her Hands

Death in Her Hands

Ottessa Moshfegh

From the Booker-shortlisted author of Eileen, a novel of haunting metaphysical suspense While on her daily walk with her dog in the nearby woods, our protagonist comes across a note, handwritten and carefully pinned to the...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewA Burning

A Burning

Megha Majumdar

For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise--to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies--and find their lives...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewA Couple of Things Before the End: Stories

A Couple of Things Before the End: Stories

Sean O'Beirne

This brilliant collection mixes the storytelling originality of George Saunders and Lydia Davis with a sensibility all its own, taking the reader on an extraordinary tour of old and new Australia - and into a very frightening...

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Disaster Tourist

The Disaster Tourist

Yun Ko-eun, Lizzie Buehler

Yona has been stuck behind a desk for years working as a programming coordinator for Jungle, a travel company specialising in package holidays to destinations ravaged by disaster

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Rain Heron

The Rain Heron

Robbie Arnott

From a 2019 Sydney Morning Herald Young Novelist of the Year and the author of the highly praised novel Flames comes another beguiling, transformative work of fiction confirming Robbie Arnott as one of Australia's most exciting...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Nickel Boys

The Nickel Boys

Colson Whitehead

Based on the history of a real reform school in Florida that operated for one hundred and eleven years and warped and destroyed the lives of thousands of children, The Nickel Boys is a devastating, driven narrative by a great...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Antkind

Antkind

Charlie Kaufman

The bold and boundlessly original debut novel from the Oscar (R)-winning screenwriter of Being John Malkovich, Adaptation, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, and Synecdoche, New York.      

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Smart Ovens for Lonely People

Smart Ovens for Lonely People

Elizabeth Tan

Conspiracies, memes, and therapies of various efficacy underpin this beguiling short-story collection from Elizabeth Tan.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.