Book series to read over summer (first books of the series)

The Art of the Engine Driver

The Art of the Engine Driver

Steven Carroll

On a hot summer's night in the 1950s, the old and the new, diesel and steam, town and country all collide - and nobody will be left unaffected. The Art of the Engine Driver is a luminous and evocative tale of ordinary suburban...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewMy Brilliant Friend: The Neopolitan Novels, Book One

My Brilliant Friend: The Neopolitan Novels, Book One

Elena Ferrante, Ann Goldstein

My Brilliant Friend is a ravishing, wonderfully written novel about a friendship that lasts a lifetime.  The story of Elena and Lila begins in a poor but vibrant neighbourhood on the outskirts of Naples. The two...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Brightness Falls

Brightness Falls

Jay McInerney

The bestselling Brightness Falls--now in trade paper from the author of Bright Lights, Big City. In the story of Russell and Corrine Calloway, set against the world of New York publishing, McInerney provides a stunningly...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Death in the Family: My Struggle Book 1

A Death in the Family: My Struggle Book 1

Karl Ove Knausgaard, Don Bartlett

When the author becomes a father himself, he must balance the demands of caring for a young family with his determination to write great literature. This title tells his story.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewCaptive Prince

Captive Prince

C. S. Pacat

Damen is a warrior hero to his people, and the rightful heir to the throne of Akielos, but when his half brother seizes power, Damen is captured, stripped of his identity, and sent to serve the prince of an enemy nation as a...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Six of Crows (Book 1)

Six of Crows (Book 1)

Leigh Bardugo

Game of Thrones meets Ocean's Eleven in this brand new fantasy epic from the No.1 New York Times bestselling author of the Grisha trilogy. Gripping, sweeping and memorable, Six of Crows is perfect for fans of George R. R....

$17.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Rivers of London (Book 1)

Rivers of London (Book 1)

Ben Aaronovitch

The first of the Sunday Times Bestselling Peter Grant series

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Darker Shade of Magic

A Darker Shade of Magic

V. E. Schwab

Most people only know one London; but what if there were several? Kell is one of the last Travelers - magicians with a rare ability to travel between parallel Londons. There's Grey London, dirty and crowded and without magic, home...

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Red Rising: Red Rising Series 1

Red Rising: Red Rising Series 1

Pierce Brown

The first book in the explosive New York Times bestselling series.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet: Wayfarers 1

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet: Wayfarers 1

Becky Chambers

When Rosemary Harper joins the crew of the Wayfarer, she isn't expecting much. The Wayfarer, a patched-up ship that's seen better days, offers her everything she could possibly want: a small, quiet spot to call home for a while,...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewIlluminae: The Illuminae Files_01

Illuminae: The Illuminae Files_01

Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff

The planet Kerenza is attacked, and Kady and Ezra find themselves on a space fleet fleeing the enemy, while their ship's artificial intelligence system and a deadly plague may be the end of them all --

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Passage

The Passage

Justin Cronin

The first instalment of the bestselling The Passage Trilogy  

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Crucifixion Creek: The Belltree Trilogy (Book One)

Crucifixion Creek: The Belltree Trilogy (Book One)

Barry Maitland

First published in Australiain 2014 by The Text Publishing Company.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Few Right Thinking Men

A Few Right Thinking Men

Sulari Gentill

A Few Right Thinking Men is set in the 1930s, in the thick of the Depression, but more importantly amid a growing fear of communism. The story is based around the character of Rowland Sinclair, the youngest of the very wealthy...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad Book 1)

In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad Book 1)

Tana French

A stunningly accomplished psychological mystery which will take you on a thrilling journey through a tangled web of evil and beyond - to the inexplicable.

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.