Book recommendations for people who find Mother’s Day hard

 Read reviewThe Odd Woman and the City: A Memoir

The Odd Woman and the City: A Memoir

Vivian Gornick

A contentious, deeply moving ode to friendship, love, and urban life.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Selfish, Shallow and Self-Absorbed

Selfish, Shallow and Self-Absorbed

Meghan Daum

The idea that some women and men prefer not to have children is often met with sharp criticism and incredulity by the public and mainstream media. This book includes collection of essays through which thirteen female writers...

$39.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Dept. of Speculation

Dept. of Speculation

Jenny Offill

The second novel from an LA Times First Fiction Prize finalist, Dept. of Speculation is an annihilating, electrifying account of marriage and motherhood, love and madness

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThings That Helped: Essays

Things That Helped: Essays

Jessica Friedmann

In this stunning collection, Jessica Friedmann navigates her journey through postpartum depression after the birth of her son. Drawing on critical theory, popular culture, and personal experience, her wide-ranging essays...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Lost Daughter

The Lost Daughter

Elena Ferrante, Ann Goldstein

Leda is a middle-aged, divorced mother devoted to her work as an English professor. After the departure of her grown-up daughters, she takes a holiday on the Italian coast. But after a few days things become unsettling; on the...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Becoming Kirrali Lewis

Becoming Kirrali Lewis

Jane Harrison

Set within the explosive cultural shifts of the 1960s and 1980s, Becoming Kirrali Lewis chronicles the journey of a young Aboriginal teenager as she leaves her home town in rural Victoria to take on a law degree in...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Heartlines: The Year I Met My Other Mother

Heartlines: The Year I Met My Other Mother

Susannah McFarlane, Robin Leuba

This is what happened the year I met my other mother. In 1965, Robin, unmarried and pregnant, comes to Melbourne to give birth and give her baby up for adoption, then returns to Perth to resume her life having never...

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

What Alice Forgot

What Alice Forgot

Liane Moriarty

A stunning repackaging from the author of the New York Times no. 1 bestsellers The Husband's Secret and Big Little Lies.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewWhy Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?

Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?

Jeanette Winterson

In 1985 Jeanette Winterson's first novel, Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, was published. It was Jeanette's version of the story of a terraced house in Accrington, an adopted child, and the thwarted giantess Mrs Winterson. It was a...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewMy Name Is Lucy Barton

My Name Is Lucy Barton

Elizabeth Strout

From Lucy's hospital bed, we are drawn ever more deeply into the emotional complexity of family life, the inescapable power of the past, and the memories - however painful - that bind a family together.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

In the Quiet

In the Quiet

Eliza Henry-Jones

A moving, sweet and uplifting novel of love, grief and the heartache of letting go, from a wonderful new Australian author. Cate Carlton has recently died, yet she is able to linger on, watching her three young children and her...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Wild: A Journey from Lost to Found

Wild: A Journey from Lost to Found

Cheryl Strayed

The official tie-in edition to the stunning film adaptation of the bestselling memoir, starring Reese Witherspoon.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

One: Valuing the Single Life

One: Valuing the Single Life

Clare Payne

Offers a new perspective on the lives of single people. One gives insight to the once maligned and now increasingly chosen status of being single. It is an inspiring call to politicians, business leaders and individuals,...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

All Grown Up

All Grown Up

Jami Attenberg

From the New York Times best-selling author of The Middlesteins comes a wickedly funny novel about a thirty-nine-year-old single, child-free woman who defies convention as she seeks connection.    

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewAfterglow: A Dog Memoir

Afterglow: A Dog Memoir

Eileen Myles

In 1990, Myles chose Rosie from a litter on the street, and their connection instantly made an indelible impact on the writer's way of being. Over the course of sixteen years together, Myles was devoted to the pit bull and their...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Where'd You Go, Bernadette

Where’d You Go, Bernadette

Maria Semple

Bernadette Fox is notorious. To her husband, she's a fearlessly opinionated partner; to fellow mothers in Seattle, she's a disgrace; and to 15-year-old Bee, she is a friend and mom. Then Bernadette disappears.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Fierce Attachments

Fierce Attachments

Vivian Gornick

In this deeply etched and haunting memoir, Vivian Gornick tells the story of her lifelong battle with her mother for independence.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewSing, Unburied, Sing

Sing, Unburied, Sing

Jesmyn Ward

An intimate portrait of a family and an epic tale of hope and struggle, Sing, Unburied, Sing examines the ugly truths at the heart of the American story and the power - and limitations - of family bonds.  

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Idaho

Idaho

Emily Ruskovich

One hot August day a family drives to a mountain clearing to collect birch wood. The two daughters, June and May, aged nine and six, drink lemonade, swat away horseflies, bicker, sing snatches of songs as they while away the...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewEducated

Educated

Tara Westover

An extraordinary memoir about a woman's discovery of education, its transformative power and the price she has to pay for it.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewFar From the Tree

Far From the Tree

Robin Benway

Far From the Tree is a raw, compelling, and ultimately uplifting story of what it means to be family.

$17.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

If At First You Don't Conceive

If At First You Don’t Conceive

Liz Ellis

A fully researched and accessible guide for Australian couples facing infertility issues by an Australian sporting great.

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Jean Harley was Here

Jean Harley was Here

Heather Taylor Johnson

Jean Harley Was Here is a touching and original exploration of love, relationships, and the ways in which we need each other.

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Art of Death: Writing the Final Story

The Art of Death: Writing the Final Story

Edwidge Danticat

$24.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Lincoln in the Bardo: WINNER OF THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

Lincoln in the Bardo: WINNER OF THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

George Saunders

The long-awaited first novel from the author of Tenth of December a moving and original father-son story featuring none other than Abraham Lincoln, as well as an unforgettable cast of supporting characters, living and dead,...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Summer Book

The Summer Book

Tove Jansson, Esther Freud

An elderly artist and her six-year-old grand-daughter are away on a summer together on a tiny island in the gulf of Finland. As the two learn to adjust to each other's fears, whims and yearnings, a fierce yet understated love...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewIslands

Islands

Peggy Frew

A stunning literary novel from the author of the Stella Prize shortlisted Hope Farm.  

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Kid Gloves: Nine Months of Careful Chaos

Kid Gloves: Nine Months of Careful Chaos

Lucy Knisley

New York Times-bestselling author Lucy Knisley writes about fertility, pregnancy, and motherhood in this emotionally compelling and thought-provoking graphic memoir.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Mother: An Unconventional History

Mother: An Unconventional History

Sarah Knott

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Baby

The Baby

Marie Darrieussecq, Penny Hueston

A renowned French author asks fundamental questions about motherhood, gender roles and identity. A must read for fans of Rachel Cusk, Sheila Heti, Jenny Offill and Maggie Nelson

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Are You My Mother?

Are You My Mother?

Alison Bechdel

From the best-selling author of Fun Home, Time magazine's No. 1 Book of the Year, comes this brilliantly told graphic memoir of Alison Bechdel becoming the artist her mother wanted to be.

$32.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Dear Scarlet: The Story of My Postpartum Depression

Dear Scarlet: The Story of My Postpartum Depression

Teresa Wong

A poignant graphic memoir about postpartum depression and the complexities of new motherhood.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Things Nobody Knows But Me

Things Nobody Knows But Me

Amra Pajalic

Things Nobody Knows But Me is a tender portrait of family and migration, beautifully told. It captures a wonderful sense of bicultural place and life as it weaves between St Albans in suburban Australia and Bosanska...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Place on Dalhousie

The Place on Dalhousie

Melina Marchetta

From the bestselling author of Looking for Alibrandi comes this perfectly crafted novel about families, relationships and the true nature of belonging.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

I'm Fine (and Other Lies)

I’m Fine (and Other Lies)

Megan Blandford

I'm Fine (and other lies) is a touching true story of motherhood: the challenges it presents, and the hope that can be found within it.

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewUnconditional Love

Unconditional Love

Jocelyn Moorhouse

A raw and powerful memoir of motherhood, autism and filmmaking by Australian director, Jocelyn Moorhouse

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Mother's Promise

A Mother’s Promise

Lee Barnett

Lee Barnett eluded the FBI for almost two decades after fleeing the US with her young daughter, eventually settling on the Sunshine Coast. Then, after eighteen years, her luck ran out.

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Erratics

The Erratics

Vicki Laveau-Harvie

This is a memoir about a dysfunctional family, about a mother and her daughters. But make no mistake. This is like no mother-daughter relationship you know. 

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

When Death Takes Something From You Give it Back

When Death Takes Something From You Give it Back

Naja Marie Aidt, Denise Newman

An unflinchingly raw and lyrical exploration of loss, poetry and love.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

What Dementia Teaches Us About Love

What Dementia Teaches Us About Love

Nicci Gerrard

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.