A reading list for fans of S-Town

 Read reviewUtopia for Realists: And How We Can Get There

Utopia for Realists: And How We Can Get There

Rutger Bregman

We live in a time of unprecedented upheaval, with questions about the future, society, work, happiness, family and money, and yet no political party of the right or left is providing us with answers. Rutger Bregman, a bestselling...

$21.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewMy Name Is Lucy Barton

My Name Is Lucy Barton

Elizabeth Strout

From Lucy's hospital bed, we are drawn ever more deeply into the emotional complexity of family life, the inescapable power of the past, and the memories - however painful - that bind a family together.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewDeer Hunting with Jesus: Dispatches from America's Class War

Deer Hunting with Jesus: Dispatches from America’s Class War

Joe Bageant

When Joe Bageant returned to his hometown of Winchester, Virginia, he rediscovered his redneck roots: 'the great beery, NASCAR-loving, church-going, gun-owning America that has never set foot in a Starbucks' . But he soon realised...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Close Range: Brokeback Mountain and Other Stories

Close Range: Brokeback Mountain and Other Stories

Annie Proulx

The inspiration behind `Life of Pi' director Ang Lee's `Brokeback Mountain' is one of the short stories to be found in this haunting collection of Wyoming tales.

$22.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Just Cool It

Just Cool It

David Suzuki, Ian Hanington

A resounding post-Paris Agreement wake-up call about the urgency of the climate crisis that offers a range of practical solutions - and above all, hope.Climate change is the most important crisis humanity has faced,...

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Island Will Sink

The Island Will Sink

Briohny Doyle

With this gripping postmodern novel in the vein of Michel Houellebecq and Phillip K. Dick, Briohny Doyle gives us a glimpse of a grave new world we all might soon face, and in so doing announces herself as a serious literary...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Gilead

Gilead

Marilynne Robinson

From the author of Housekeeping, Gilead is the long-hoped- for second novel by one of America's finest writers. Chosen by the New York Times Book Review as one of the top 6 novels of 2004. 'A beautiful novel: wise, tender...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis

Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis

J. D. Vance

Hillbilly Elegy is a passionate and personal analysis of a culture in crisis-that of white working-class Americans. The decline of this group, a demographic of our country that has been slowly disintegrating over forty years, has...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Insomniac City: New York, Oliver, and Me

Insomniac City: New York, Oliver, and Me

Bill Hayes

A moving celebration of what Bill Hayes calls the evanescent, the eavesdropped, the unexpected of life in New York City, and an intimate glimpse of his relationship with the late Oliver Sacks.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.