The Moment

Mia Dyson

The Moment
  • Format
  • Published
  • ISBN

The Moment

Mia Dyson

The Moment frames that three-year journey into a chaotic American landscape and the depths of uncertainty. It is an album about grabbing hold of what scares you most and letting go of trying to control your own fate. Each song holds up a piece of broken heart and examines it through the fresh eyes of a woman who’s found her place, and is suddenly aware that not much in life can be planned.

From the chronicle of an imploding relationship (‘Pistol’) to the life-affirming heart-pounding joy of forging ahead (‘When The Moment Comes’) to the empathetic gaze outward into a dark canon of Australian history in ‘Jesse’. This is the kind of album America meant for Mia Dyson to make all along.

Track Listing:

  1. When the Moment Comes
  2. Pistol
  3. Tell Me
  4. Fill Yourself
  5. The Outskirts of Town
  6. Dancing on the Edge
  7. Jesse
  8. To Fight is to Lose
  9. Cigarettes
  10. Two Roads


mia-dyson-revThree years ago award-winning blues based singer-songwriter and guitarist Mia Dyson departed our shores to further her career in the tough US market. Despite setbacks, Dyson has channelled her frustrations in love and career into a tight and focused bunch of songs that are easily her best to date. The album was financed by her loyal local fan base and it shows.

Dyson lays down a solid bunch of punchy grooves, taking us through a varied collection of songs that strongly feature themes of love lost and sporadic observations of life in her adopted home. There are slow-burn bluesy numbers like ‘Tell Me’ which feature economical but expressive guitar licks and of course that powerful voice. Comparisons with Lucinda Williams and Bonnie Raitt (who Dyson has toured with) are inevitable; this could be the album that takes her career to the next level.

Paul Barr is a Music Specialist at Readings Carlton.

This item is not currently in-stock. It can be ordered online and is expected to ship in 2-14 days

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.