Smile Sessions Limited Edition

Beach Boys

Smile Sessions Limited Edition
  • Format
  • Published
  • ISBN

Smile Sessions Limited Edition

Beach Boys


Never Before Released Original 1966-‘67 Album Sessions

Between the summer of 1966 and early 1967, The Beach Boys recorded a bounty of songs and drafts for an album, SMiLE, that was intended to follow the band’s 1966 masterpiece, Pet Sounds. The sessions were ultimately shelved, and The Beach Boys’ SMiLE has never been released. With the full participation of original Beach Boys Al Jardine, Mike Love, and Brian Wilson, Capitol/EMI has collected and compiled the definitive collection, ‘The SMiLE Sessions’.

The SMiLE Sessions presents an in-depth overview of the recording sessions for the album, which achieved legendary, mythical status for music fans around the world.

All of The SMiLE Sessions' physical and digital configurations will include an assembled album of core tracks, while the box set delves much deeper into the sessions, adding early song drafts, alternate takes, instrumental and vocals-only mixes, and studio chatter.

Artwork for all of the SMiLE Sessions has been created with and inspired by Beat-Pop artist Frank Holmes' original 1967 art and booklet designs intended for the SMiLE album. With its three-dimensional shadowbox lid, The SMiLE Sessions box set offers a whimsical peek inside the storied ‘SMiLE Shop.’

  • Lift top box
  • Original cover art designed by Frank Holmes
  • 2 CDs in wallets
  • 14.5" x 20" poster of Frank Holmes cover art
  • 1" Smile button
  • 36 page booklet featuring liner notes by Brian Wilson and previously unseen photos

Disk 1

  1. Our Prayer
  2. Gee
  3. Heroes and Villains
  4. Do You Like Worms (Roll Plymouth Rock)
  5. I’m In Great Shape
  6. Barnyard
  7. My Only Sunshine (The Old Master Painter/you Are My Sunshine)
  8. Cabin Essence
  9. Wonderful
  10. Look (Song For Children)
  11. Child Is Father Of The Man
  12. Surf’s Up
  13. I Wanna Be Around/ Workshop
  14. Vega-tables
  15. Holidays
  16. Wind Chimes
  17. The Elements: Fire (Mrs O'leary’s Cow)
  18. Love To Say Dada
  19. Good Vibrations
  20. You’re Welcome Bonus Track
  21. Heroes and Villians (Stereo Mix) Bonus Track
  22. Heroes and Villians Sections (Stereo Mix) Bonus Track
  23. Vega-tables Demo Bonus Track
  24. He Gives Speeches Bonus Track
  25. Smile Backing Vocals Montage Bonus Track
  26. Surf’s Up 1967 (Solo Version) Bonus Track
  27. Psycodelic Sounds: Brian Falls Into A Piano Bonus Track

Disk 2

  1. Our Prayer “Dialog” 19/9/66
  2. Heroes and Villains (Part 1)
  3. Heroes and Villains (Part 2)
  4. Heroes and Villains: Children Were Raised 27/1/67
  5. Heroes and Villains: Prelude to Fade 15/2/67
  6. My Only Sunshine 14/11/66
  7. Cabin Essence 3/10/66
  8. Surf’s Up: 1st Movement 4/11/66
  9. Surf’s Up Piano Demo
  10. Vegetables Fade 12/4/67
  11. The Elements: Fire Session 28/11/66
  12. Cool Cool Water Version 2 26/10/67 - 29/10/67
  13. Good Vibrations Session Highlights
  14. Psycodelic Sounds: Brian Falls Into A Microphone 4/11/66

This item is in-stock and will ship in 1-2 business days

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.