Beethoven Symphonies And Overtures

Immerseel Jos Van Anima Eterna

Beethoven Symphonies And Overtures
  • Format
  • ISBN

Beethoven Symphonies And Overtures

Immerseel Jos Van Anima Eterna

Catalogue # ZZT0804026

“Elegant performances” (Guardian) by this Belgian orchestra and “their playing held me on the edge of my seat.” (Gramophone)

Anima Eterna is a period-intrument orchestra boasting many of Europe’s most famous players (including Midori Seiler, Frank Theuns, Marc Hantai, Antoine Torunczyk and Erich Hoeprich) under the inspired direction of Jos van Immerseel. Winds, brass and strings are perfectly balanced and positively glow with the authentic sound of late 18th- and early 19th-century Vienna.

Works: Symphonies Nos. 1-9 (complete) Consecration of the House Overture, Op. 124 The Ruins of Athens Overture, Op. 113 The Creatures of Prometheus Overture, Op. 43 The Ruins of Athens -Turkish March Coriolan Overture, Op. 62 Egmont Overture, Op. 84


Sometimes Beethoven can be ridiculously overstated, but this beautiful box set from Jos Van Immerseel & Anima Eterna has a fabulous lilting sense of musicality to it. Each of the symphonies, while being flowing in the slower movements has excitement abounding in the Allegros. Also including a number of overtures, this is a great box of Beethoven symphonies to assuage that Beethoven craving we all get occasionally.

In-stock items ship within Australia in 2-5 business days.

Items that are currently not in-stock but are available can still be ordered. In-store availability is updated daily. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Stock information is refreshed every 24 hours.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.