Gabrieli New Venetian Coronation 1595

Mccreesh Paul Gabrieli Consort

Gabrieli New Venetian Coronation 1595
  • Format
  • ISBN

Gabrieli New Venetian Coronation 1595

Mccreesh Paul Gabrieli Consort

Catalogue # SIGCD287

The Gabrieli Consort and Players return to the programme that put them on the musical map when it was originally recorded and released in 1990: ‘A Venetian Coronation 1595’ is a musical re-creation evoking the grand pageantry of the Coronation Mass for Venetian Doge Marino Grimani. His love of ceremony and state festivals fuelled an extraordinary musical bounty during his reign and formed the background to the musical riches of the period, especially to the works of Giovanni Gabrieli. With cornetts, sackbuts and an all-male consort, Paul McCreesh fully exploits the dazzling polyphony of Andrea and Giovanni Gabrieli’s music and captivates the audience in a theatrical and ceremonious performance.

Two decades later, the Gabrieli’s ‘New Venetian Coronation’ takes advantage of huge developments in early instruments, performance techniques and research into the pieces that were on the original (as well as advances in recording techniques).

A New Venetian Coronation, 1595

  1. The procession: bells intrada tertia / sexta / septima, trumpet sonata no. 333 Hans Leo Hassler, Cesare Bendinelli
  2. Toccata secondo tono Giovanni Gabrieli
  3. Introit
  4. Arrival of the doge: toccata 26 Cesare Bendinelli
  5. Intonazione primo tono Giovanni Gabrieli
  6. Kyrie à 5 Andrea Gabrieli
  7. Christe à 8 Andrea Gabrieli
  8. Kyrie à 12 Andrea Gabrieli
  9. Gloria à 16 Andrea Gabrieli
  10. Collect
  11. Epistle
  12. Gradual: canzona [13] à 12 Giovanni Gabrieli
  13. Gospel
  14. Intonazione settimo ton Andrea Gabrieli
  15. Offertory: deus qui beatum marcum à 10 Giovanni Gabrieli
  16. Preface
  17. Sanctus & benedictus à 12 Andrea Gabrieli
  18. Elevation: sarasinetta 2 Cesare Bendinelli
  19. Canzona [16] à 15 Giovanni Gabrieli
  20. Pater noster
  21. Agnus dei
  22. Intonazione quinto tono alla quarta bassa Giovanni Gabrieli
  23. Communion: o sacrum convivium à 5 Andrea Gabrieli
  24. Canzona [9] à 10 Giovanni Gabrieli
  25. Post communion prayer
  26. Sonata la leona Cesario Gussago
  27. Omnes gentes à 16 Giovanni Gabrieli

Gabrieli Consort & Players, Paul McCreesh

In-stock items ship within Australia in 2-5 business days.

Items that are not in-stock can still be ordered but shipping times will vary.

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.