El Camino

Black Keys

El Camino
  • Format
  • Published
  • ISBN

El Camino

Black Keys

The Black Keys’ new album El Camino will be released on December 2 via Nonesuch Records. Produced by Danger Mouse and The Black Keys, the 11-track album was recorded at singer/guitarist Dan Auerbach’s Easy Eye Sound studio in the band’s new hometown of Nashville during the spring of 2011. The 1st single from the album, ‘Lonely Boy’, has recently been released to radio, and has received strong play on Triple J – the very funny video has also just been serviced to television. El Camino follows the most successful two years in The Black Keys’ career. In May 2010 they released their breakthrough album, Brothers, to widespread critical acclaim. Debuting at # 2 in the US, it went on to win three Grammy Awards and an MTV Video Music Award, and topped numerous year-end lists, including iTunes, NPR, and Rolling Stone. Brothers, which included the hit singles ‘Tighten Up’ and ‘Howlin’ for You’, has been certified Gold in the US and UK, and Platinum in Canada. Worldwide sales are now over one million and counting. Drummer Patrick Carney said of the band’s recent success, “We’ve taken the long road to get where we are. It’s pretty cool to be in your early 30s making music with your best friend. We’ve experienced everything from driving a thousand miles to play for no one to winning Grammys.” Auerbach further describes the band’s dynamic, “We don’t talk before we play. We don’t practice before we record, we just fly by the seat of our pants.” He says of El Camino, “I think where this record is going to shine for me is playing the songs live. This record is more straight ahead rock and roll – raw, driving, and back to basics.”

  1. Lonely Boy
  2. Dead and Gone
  3. Gold on the Ceiling
  4. Little Black Submarines
  5. Money Maker
  6. Run Right Back
  7. Sister
  8. Hell of a Season
  9. Stop Stop
  10. Nova Baby
  11. Mind Eraser


Backing vocals and keyboards are not necessarily something I immediately associate with a Black Keys record. Admittedly, it took me a few listens to get past that and hear what they’re really doing. El Camino is possibly their most commercial-sounding and hook-laden album to date, with Dangermouse on production duties again. Lyrically heavy on the ‘love and loss’ theme, musically it sounds like they’ve been listening to a lot of 70s glam rock à la T-Rex. Yes, it’s perhaps a million miles from their earlier albums, but surely that is something to be applauded. After ten years together they aren’t just making the same record over and over again – they continue to evolve and try new things.

Melissa Whebell is from Readings Hawthorn

In-stock items ship within Australia in 2-5 business days.

Items that are not in-stock can still be ordered but shipping times will vary.

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.