• Format
  • Published
  • ISBN


Beach House

The landscape of Bloom was largely designed on the road, between the countless sound checks and myriad experiences during two years of tour. Throughout this period, melodies, chords, rhythms, words, and textures surfaced in moments of their own choosing. These spontaneous ideas were later gathered and developed in Baltimore, where the band lives and works. Legrand adds, “Bloom is a journey. For me, it is about the irreplaceable power of imagination as it relates to the intense experience of living. A bloom is only temporary… a fleeting vision of life in all its intensity and colour, beautiful even if only for a moment.”

  1. Myth
  2. Wild
  3. Lazuli
  4. Other People
  5. The Hours
  6. Troublemaker
  7. New Year
  8. Wishes
  9. On the Sea
  10. Irene


Indie pop made as desirable as the band’s name by the floaty voice of lead singer Victoria Legrand and the ethereal instrumental handling of Alex Scally, Beach House’s fourth album is a leisurely promenade through a guitar-and synth-laden wonderland.

As evocative of a warm evening as the sound of crickets that populate some of the tracks, if you categorise your albums thematically this will be at home next to Broadcast, Deerhunter and Washed Out (if you’re an alphabetiser, I guess it’ll be next to the Beach Boys.) If you wished their previous albums were longer, you’ll adore this new venture. If you’ve never heard them before, you can thank me later.

fiona-hardy-picFiona Hardy sells books and talks too much to customers at Readings Carlton, and puts together Dead Write for the Readings Monthly. She blogs haphazardly about movies and books (and sometimes music) and you can follow her on twitter - @readwatchtweet.

This item is in-stock and will ship in 1-2 business days

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.