Recommended Reads from our Facebook & Twitter Friends

 Special priceNarcopolis

Narcopolis

Jeet Thayil

Portrays a city in collision with itself. With a cast of pimps, pushers, poets, gangsters and eunuchs, this title is a journey into a sprawling underworld.

$13.95Buy now

 Read reviewThe Children of the King

The Children of the King

Sonya Hartnett

Three children have been sent to live in the countryside, safe from the war in London. When they find two boys hiding in a castle, the past and future come together to make an extraordinary adventure. A hauntingly beautiful story...

$24.95Buy now

The Sense of an Ending

The Sense of an Ending

Julian Barnes

Tony Webster and his clique first met Adrian Finn at school. Sex-hungry and book-hungry, they would navigate the girl-less sixth form together, trading in affectations, in-jokes, rumour and wit. May be Adrian was a little more...

$19.95Buy now

Joe Cinque's Consolation: A True Story of Death, Grief and the Law

Joe Cinque’s Consolation: A True Story of Death, Grief and the Law

Helen Garner

In October 1997, a clever young student at the ANU murdered her boyfriend. She and her best friend were later charged with murder. Garner followed the trial in the ACT Supreme Court. This book is about how and why Joe Cinque died....

$24.95Buy now

 Read reviewI Hate Martin Amis Et Al

I Hate Martin Amis Et Al

Peter Barry

It is 1995. Milan Zorec, an aspiring yet rejected novelist, travels from England to Bosnia to join the Serbian forces as a sniper in Sarajevo, in the final months of the longest siege in history.

$29.95Buy now

 Read reviewBehind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, and Hope in a Mumbai Undercity

Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, and Hope in a Mumbai Undercity

Katherine Boo

With intelligence, humour, and deep insight into what connects human beings in an era of tumultuous change, Behind the Beautiful Forevers carries the reader headlong into one of the 21st century's hidden worlds,...

$27.95Buy now

 Read reviewBlood

Blood

Tony Birch

From the much-loved author of Shadowboxing comes a stunning debut novel in the tradition of Honey Brown, Chris Wommersley, and Kenneth Cook's Wake in Fright . If there's one thing Jesse knows when he sees it, it's trouble.

$29.95Buy now

Anathem

Anathem

Neal Stephenson

Erasmas, 'Raz', is a young avout living in the Concent. Three times during history's darkest epochs, violence has invaded and devastated the cloistered community. Yet the avout have always managed to adapt in the wake of...

$26.95Buy now

Along the Way: The Journey of a Father and Son

Along the Way: The Journey of a Father and Son

Martin Sheen, Emilio Estevez, MJ

Spanning nearly 50 years of family history, the book chronicles the remarkable lives of two creative talents, Martin Sheen and Emilio Estevez. It's a story of father and son set against the backdrop of Hollywood. It focuses not...

$30.00Buy now

 Read reviewWhat the Family Needed

What the Family Needed

Steven Amsterdam

'Okay, tell me which do you want: to be able to fly or to be invisible?' This question leads to thirty years of discoveries, extraordinary strengths and closely guarded secrets. This narrative deals with a family whose members...

$24.95Buy now

In Her Blood

In Her Blood

Annie Hauxwell

Investigator Catherine Berlin is in a world of trouble. Her informant has turned up dead, she's been suspended from her job, and her doctor - a crucial part of her life - has been murdered. Worse still, Berlin suspects her own...

$29.95Buy now

The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

Haruki Murakami, Jay Rubin

Toru Okada's cat has disappeared and this has unsettled his wife, who is herself growing more distant every day. Then there are the increasingly explicit telephone calls he has started receiving.

$14.99Buy now

The Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud

The Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud

Sigmund Freud, James Strachey, Anna Freud

The first volume of the standard edition of the complete psychological works of Sigmund Freud.

$14.99Buy now

Danube

Danube

Claudio Magris, Professor Patrick Creagh

A celebration of a river which has been at the centre of the great movements of history, the crucible of a culture that draws on influences of East and West, of Christendom and Islam. The reader accompanies the author along its...

$31.95Buy now

The Tree of Man

The Tree of Man

Patrick White

At the turn of the century, Stan Parker takes a wife and makes a home as a small farmer in the wilderness of Australia. Amy bears his children and time brings him a procession of ordinary events - achievements, disappointments,...

$12.95Buy now

 Read reviewThe Passage

The Passage

Justin Cronin

An epic, awe-inspiring novel of good and evil - the most talked about book of the year, and now a global bestseller.

$19.99Buy now

Bad Debts

Bad Debts

Peter Temple

Danny McKillop's dead and no one cares much except his wife. And Jack Irish, because now that's twice that he's let McKillop down. But when he starts digging for information, he turns over some rocks that certain people want very...

$23.95Buy now

 Read reviewAll I Ever Wanted

All I Ever Wanted

Vikki Wakefield

Mim knows what she wants, and where she wants to go - anywhere but home, stuck in the suburbs with her mother who won't get off the couch, and two brothers in prison. She has set herself rules to live by, but she's starting to...

$19.95Buy now

 Read reviewJasper Jones

Jasper Jones

Craig Silvey

Charlie Bucktin is startled by an urgent knock on the window of his sleep-out. His visitor is Jasper Jones, an outcast in the mining town of Corrigan. Jasper takes Charlie to his secret glade in the bush, and it's here that...

$23.99Buy now

The Very Hungry Caterpillar

The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Eric Carle

A newly hatched caterpillar eats his way through all kinds of food, getting bigger and bigger, until eventually he turns into a beautiful caterpillar.

$16.95Buy now

Borsch, Vodka and Tears

Borsch, Vodka and Tears

Benny Roff, Mark Roper

This book is a celebration of the food and passion behind this Melbourne institution. The book is split into three chapters: Tears , which is the story of how the restaurant came about; Vodka , which is a definitive guide to...

$36.95Buy now

In Cold Blood: A True Account of a Multiple Murder and Its Consequences

In Cold Blood: A True Account of a Multiple Murder and Its Consequences

Truman Capote

On 15 November 1959, the small town of Holcomb, Kansas, a wealthy farmer, his wife and their two young children were found brutally murdered. Blood all over the walls, the telephone lines cut, and only a few dollars stolen....

$19.95Buy now

The Decameron

The Decameron

Giovanni Boccaccio, G.H. McWilliam

In the summer of 1348, as the Black Death ravages their city, ten young Florentines take refuge in the countryside. In this title, the characters amuse themselves by each telling a story a day, for the ten days of their...

$9.95Buy now

The Good Father

The Good Father

Diane Chamberlain

A beloved daughter. A devastating choice. And now there's no going back.

$30.00Buy now

Bitter Is the New Black: Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smartass, Or, Why You Should Never Carry a Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office

Bitter Is the New Black: Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smartass, Or, Why You Should Never Carry a Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office

Jen Lancaster

From a popular blogger comes a hilarious memoir that takes readers from sorority house to penthouse to poorhouse.

$27.95Buy now

 Read reviewRunning Dogs

Running Dogs

Ruby J. Murray

Jakarta, 1997, and the city is on the verge of a revolution. Even the Jordan children - Petra, Isaak, Kristina, and Paul - can feel it coming, shaking the edges of their privileged, protected expat world.

$29.95Buy now

Till We Have Faces: A Myth Retold

Till We Have Faces: A Myth Retold

C. S. Lewis

In Mr. Lewis's sensitive hands the ancient myth retains its fascination while being endowed with new meanings, new depths, new terrors. --Saturday Review

$26.95Buy now

The Ethics of What We Eat

The Ethics of What We Eat

Peter Singer, Jim Mason

The authors have discovered the link between food choices and human health, animal suffering and environmental degradation could shock and challenge you. Contains essential information on ethical, but practical shopping and...

$24.95Buy now

Great by Choice: Uncertainty, Chaos and Luck - Why Some Thrive Despite Them All

Great by Choice: Uncertainty, Chaos and Luck - Why Some Thrive Despite Them All

Jim Collins, Morten T. Hansen

Intends to ask: Why do some companies thrive in uncertainty, even chaos, and others do not? This title enumerates the principles for building a truly great enterprise in unpredictable, tumultuous, and fast-moving times.

$45.00Buy now

Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen, Vivien Jones, Tony Tanner, Anne Rees Jones

When Elizabeth Bennet first meets eligible bachelor Fitzwilliam Darcy, she thinks him arrogant and conceited; he is indifferent to her good looks and lively mind. When she later discovers that Darcy has involved himself in the...

$9.95Buy now

The Conundrum: How Scientific Innovation, Increased Efficiency, and Good Intentions Can Make Our Energy and Climate Problems Worse

The Conundrum: How Scientific Innovation, Increased Efficiency, and Good Intentions Can Make Our Energy and Climate Problems Worse

David Owen

The Conundrum is a mind-changing manifesto about the environment, efficiency, and the real path to sustainability.

$19.95Buy now

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.